I think Speech is important, as I am learning!

October 3, 2010 at 12:12 pm 3 comments

I am really enjoying my speech class this quarter.  I was really nervous about taking this class, even though it was one of my requirements.  I have actually surprised myself  with only four classes under my belt, these last two weeks, have actually been very exciting, and needless to say very informative.

There is a lot of energetic students in the class, along with the instructor that is pleasant.  I didn’t think that I would enjoy the posters that we have had to create in class, along with getting up in front of  the class to speak about what we have had to come up with, in just a few minutes. But, guess what it is fun.  For instance today in class we had a total of 8.5 minutes.  There is definitely a lot of well thought out ideas that have come across the groups that I have been involved in.

Communication in public speaking, I feel is a necessity, as someone in class mentioned, practice, practice, and practice.  I believe your voice has to do in how you are portraying yourself as a speaker.  Of course, the title of the speech has to catch your audience’s attention.  I just in general sometimes explaining something to a family member, found that I at times leave out the steps of what I am trying to communicate to them, and I believe that has to do with I have always talked really fast.  I have had people ask me ” are you from New York”?  Also, family members in the past have told me to “slow down, I don’t understand a word you are telling me.  But over the years, I have tried to speak slower, if it may be talking or explaining an issue to someone.

Hopefully, I will get better in giving the speeches in front of my classmates, and instructor this quarter.  I will admit, I am somewhat nervous, hopefully that will not show.

Pam

Entry filed under: public speaking, Public Speaking Tips, Reflecting on Experience, Uncategorized.

Speech 101 Drifting

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. christina  |  October 4, 2010 at 5:09 pm

    I agree pam I also thought this would be harder for me than it has been. I also tjink it has been a very exciting last two weeks I can only hope the next few are just as exciting and helpfull!

    Reply
  • 2. penni2010  |  October 5, 2010 at 2:34 pm

    Great blog Pam. You did great during your speech you did not look nervous at all.

    Reply
  • 3. Blake14  |  October 11, 2010 at 1:21 pm

    I also agree that you did a very good job Pam and did not look nervous. I myself was very nervous about speaking in front of the class but after doing it i realized that it was a lot more fun than i expected. Hopefully the next few weeks will continue to be more fun.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Student Blog

This blog is the collective work of students enrolled in the Fundamentals of Effective Speech Class at Southern State Community College South Campus. We invite you to add your voice to the conversation. Just click the "add comment' button to share your ideas and suggestions.

Blog Stats

  • 169,063 hits

Important

If you see your image, link, name, etc. on this blog and don't want it here, please contact us and it will be removed immediately.

