Speech 101

October 3, 2010 at 12:06 pm 2 comments

Hello all. My name is Kayla. I am a freshman in college, and a senior in high school. The college life is much different from what I have been use to. I am taking three classes at the college. English 101, Psychology, and Speech. The class I’m going to be talking about on here is my speech class. The main reason why students are required to take a speech class is because the class will teach you how to speak in public and not get nervous. Some ways to help prevent nervousness is to know that most people won’t even notice that you may be shaking, or that you maybe nervous at all. Another thing I have learned from my speech class is that it is good to be nervous before you give a speech. Also that a speech can be related to an everyday conversation. So when you are asked to speak in public remember that your audience can’t see that your nervous. Also remember to just be yourself and have fun.

-Kayla

Entry filed under: public speaking, Public Speaking Tips, Uncategorized.

A New Experience I think Speech is important, as I am learning!

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. minot1990  |  October 12, 2010 at 9:33 pm

    I agree with you totally and will keep in mind what all you have written. I remember reading that you shouldn`t think of it as stage fight but as stage excitement since its your bodys way of getting excited or pumped up.
    I have a 7 month old sister named Kayla too.

    Reply
  • 2. natashabalas  |  October 12, 2010 at 10:14 pm

    Your advice could not be more right! I was always so worried that people could pick out every little nervous move while i was standing up there but after this, I am so much more relaxed realizing that they do not pick up on half of my anxiety. You are also completely right about the have fun part! If you are doing that, public speaking will be so much more enjoyable.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Student Blog

This blog is the collective work of students enrolled in the Fundamentals of Effective Speech Class at Southern State Community College South Campus. We invite you to add your voice to the conversation. Just click the "add comment' button to share your ideas and suggestions.

Blog Stats

  • 169,079 hits

Important

If you see your image, link, name, etc. on this blog and don't want it here, please contact us and it will be removed immediately.

