The Stars Must be Aligning

October 6, 2010 at 11:30 am 3 comments

I cannot believe how my speech class and English 100 are fitting together. It is great that I can take things I learned in one class and directly apply them to the other. In English class we have been discussing different types of essays and writing styles. We also discussed choosing topics and how to narrow down broad topics. As I was reading our chapter assignments, I noticed a strange similarity between the two subjects. I was actually dreading taking these two classes together. I do not like writing essays or giving speeches. Taking both in the same quarter was not my idea of fun.  Two days before the fall quarter started I changed my major. I was limited to my selection of classes and had to take anything that was available. I landed into both of these classes at the last-minute. Two weeks in and I could not be happier.

I think that being out of school for twenty-one years has helped reset my brain. I find my classes to be interesting and refreshing. I feel like I can see the educational experience through new eyes. Classes that I had trouble with in high school are now making sense. Going back was scary. Now I wish I would have never waited.

Shawn H.

Entry filed under: public speaking, Public Speaking Tips, Reflecting on Experience, Uncategorized.

Our First Speeches The Readings are very Interesting!

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. hannahgreene7  |  October 6, 2010 at 7:54 pm

    Shawn, you did a great job with your reading today. I like that you chose something from Revelation; it is an interesting book in the Bible that I have not read much of before. I also think that you have a nice speaking voice. You projected very well and spoke clearly. I look forward to hearing more from you.

    Hannah

    Reply
  • 2. shamilton22  |  October 8, 2010 at 10:11 am

    I am right there with you Shawn! I have been out of school for 23 years! I first went and took my Ged through SSCC and little did I know I received and Honors Scholarship at the Graduation Ceremony! I was so shocked. I had scored the highest on my Ged in the county. Just passing it, inspired me the most to go back to school and so I did and I absolutely LOVE IT and I am so proud of myself, for I never pictured this at all in my life. As for speech class, I have a lot to say sometimes that is very interesting and just don’t know how to get it out there. This is my opportunity and yours too!
    Sharon H.

    Reply
  • 3. brandonj36  |  October 12, 2010 at 5:24 pm

    Very true how the english class and speech class go hand in hand.

    Brandon J

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Student Blog

This blog is the collective work of students enrolled in the Fundamentals of Effective Speech Class at Southern State Community College South Campus. We invite you to add your voice to the conversation. Just click the "add comment' button to share your ideas and suggestions.

Blog Stats

  • 165,348 hits

Important

If you see your image, link, name, etc. on this blog and don't want it here, please contact us and it will be removed immediately.

