Words in My Head Before And After My Speech

October 8, 2010 at 9:53 am 2 comments

When I started back to school after almost 16 years of being out, I was worried. “Will I flunk out?” I kept asking myself. Well you could imagine my surprise when I discovered that I had to take a Public Speaking Class, Terrified!!

When I was preparing for my first speech I kept obsessing, thinking things like “They’re all gonna laugh at you!” from the movie Carrie kept running in my head. Was I loosing my mind? Why all the negative self talk? What was wrong with me? Thank goodness it was all only anxiety and I was able to get a handle on it. After I gave my first speech I felt instant relief. I was satisfied with the results and felt as if I did a good job.

Now we are faced with having to decide what our second speech will be about. How hard it will be to narrow down a subject when I have a wide variety of knowledge in so many different interests that have nothing to do with each other. The most obvious thing to choose to do a speech on is the one thing you have the most amount of knowledge about. I find this difficult because the one thing I have the most knowledge about is change. Life is always changing jobs, friends, seasons, moving, death, birth and so on. Changes in life are solely based on life experience and no two people are the same.

Penni

Entry filed under: Experience & public speaking, Fear & public speaking, Public Reading, public speaking, Public Speaking Tips, Reflecting on Experience, storytelling.

The Readings are very Interesting! Where Did that Come From?

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. fill7718  |  October 9, 2010 at 11:33 am

    I know how you felt, I have been out of school for 30 years and I never had to get up in front of the class and give a speech. I was terrified. I also felt relief after it was over and I’m hoping the nervousness goes away by the time I have to give my second one. Picking a topic is hard but I would rather pick one than have someone pick it for me. I find it easier to pick something from the heart, something that you really care about or has great meaning to you. Good Luck, Im sure we will be fine.

    Reply
  • 2. pammy53  |  November 19, 2010 at 11:48 pm

    I would also pick my own topics, instead of someone wanting to give me a title to create a speech on. I have been out of school for many years also. I think that I have settled in some what ok, I sure like alll of my co-students. I enjoy talking to all of them

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Student Blog

This blog is the collective work of students enrolled in the Fundamentals of Effective Speech Class at Southern State Community College South Campus. We invite you to add your voice to the conversation. Just click the "add comment' button to share your ideas and suggestions.

Blog Stats

  • 167,529 hits

Important

If you see your image, link, name, etc. on this blog and don't want it here, please contact us and it will be removed immediately.

