Dr. Seuss for a day

October 12, 2010 at 10:22 pm 3 comments

I was very nervous, to say the least, before my reading. I was one of the last ones to give my reading, so I got a chance to listen to many others before mine, and they were remarkable. I was for sure that mine would not even compare to a lot of the readings. But thankfully my reading felt like it flowed very nicely and I was satisfied with my first presentation in speech class. Now I’m ready to prepare for the next ones. I think a difficult part of giving speeches is that after I focused on how nervous I am, I can hardly think about what I am giving the speech about. It didn’t bother me quite as much with a reading, but when I start having to think while I’m giving a speech, that’s when I am going to have problems. I plan to practice a lot more and defeat that problem.

 

Bryce

Entry filed under: Public Reading, public speaking, Reflecting on Experience, Uncategorized.

power and control 1st Speech Down!

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. penni2010  |  October 13, 2010 at 11:56 am

    I really liked the book that you read. I have heard that book read to people in my family as they graduated from high school as an inspiration to go farther and look at what they have accomplished. You have a wonderful public speaking voice to listen to.

    Reply
  • 2. jdenzik7  |  December 1, 2010 at 3:54 pm

    I was going to read a Dr. Seuss book too. Reading was better than looking at the eyes of the people staring right at you.

    Reply
  • 3. steven016  |  December 1, 2010 at 11:30 pm

    Yeah I know what you mean, I can do anything and play anything on my guitar until I start to think about it and I mess up. I think it helps to just close your eyes for a second and block everything out for just a second.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Student Blog

This blog is the collective work of students enrolled in the Fundamentals of Effective Speech Class at Southern State Community College South Campus. We invite you to add your voice to the conversation. Just click the "add comment' button to share your ideas and suggestions.

Blog Stats

  • 166,687 hits

Important

If you see your image, link, name, etc. on this blog and don't want it here, please contact us and it will be removed immediately.

