One Down!

October 13, 2010 at 2:00 pm 2 comments

Our first speech in speech class is done! As nervous as I was going into it, after I started those nerves seemed to fade. I love that our first speech was a reading because we didn’t have to memorize anything and we could focus on our delivery which took a lot of pressure off. It was a good way to practice for our future speeches.

The class made me feel extremely comfortable standing up there and I was really able to get into my speech and actually enjoy reading it to them. Everyone did extremely well on these, and I think a lot of people actually enjoyed it too.

I also liked how we critiqued each other. I love getting feedback about my work because it gives me guidelines to follow for next time on what I can improve on. Also it gave me a confidence boost about my public speaking abilities when I read all of the positive comments. It helped me realize that I don’t have to be a nervous wreck when speaking in front of people. All in all I feel our readings were a success and a lot of fun and it’s strange for me to say but I am actually looking forward to our next speech!

 

Natasha

Entry filed under: Public Speaking Delivery, Public Speaking Tips, Reflecting on Experience, Uncategorized.

What I Learned Getting Harder

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Aletha Angelus  |  October 17, 2010 at 7:49 pm

    I agree! It was nice giving a reading speech first so we did not stress about memorizing a speech. I like the fact we could concentrate on our delivery.

    Reply
  • 2. shamilton22  |  October 17, 2010 at 9:49 pm

    I also agree, we have an excellent class! That makes it a little easier for all of us….

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Student Blog

This blog is the collective work of students enrolled in the Fundamentals of Effective Speech Class at Southern State Community College South Campus. We invite you to add your voice to the conversation. Just click the "add comment' button to share your ideas and suggestions.

Blog Stats

  • 165,770 hits

Important

If you see your image, link, name, etc. on this blog and don't want it here, please contact us and it will be removed immediately.

