speech class

October 13, 2010 at 2:30 pm 5 comments

We have recently been talking how to set up a speech’s introduction, body and conclusion. all the stuff our instructor went over with us today seemed to be extremely helpful to me!! I was completely lost at the beginning on exactly what I am doing my speech on. I had a topic in mind but the topic can be so broad that I wasn’t sure how I was going to lay it out. Bu, after listening to what Candee, our instructor told us today I am pretty sure I already have a pretty good idea on how I am going to start and end my speech. N,ow all that is left is to actually think of what to put in the body!!

At the beginning of this class I would have never expected that I would be excited to give my next speech, but  amazingly I am excited! I am certain that this  class is going to really help me get much further in life and in my career that plan to pursue after high school graduation. the feedback from our first speech really helped and it made me feel less nervous that I did horrible. Now that I know what I need to work on I’m pretty sure I will do even better  giving my next speech!

lizz

Entry filed under: public speaking, Public Speaking Tips, Reflecting on Experience, Uncategorized.

Getting Harder My First Speech

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Simpson_LA  |  October 13, 2010 at 5:00 pm

    Haha. I totally know what you mean. I had no idea about what to do or how to do it. But after listening to Candee and talking to her after class I now know what to do…mostly. Good luck on your body.

    Reply
  • 2. Lennie  |  October 17, 2010 at 4:01 pm

    I know how you feel, I have my topic picked out but not sure how to put together the body of the speech. After reading chapters 8 and 9 I was sure I could pull this off but I tried starting on my speech and after reading chapter 7 about giving examples I’m confused again. I’m sure I will feel better about it after class on Monday. Good luck on your speech, I’m sure you will do great.

    Reply
  • 3. natashabalas  |  October 18, 2010 at 12:59 am

    I agree completely too! The thought of setting up a speech seemed a little scary because there is so much to include but Candee definitely made it easier to understand so it didn’t seem that terrible! I am actually looking forward to our next speech as well which is such a strange thought because i used to be terrified of public speaking. This class has helped so much already!

    Reply
  • 4. cramer5235  |  October 21, 2010 at 1:01 pm

    After talking to Candee on Monday im scared again. I thought we were reading our speeches from our paper not from memory or note cards SCARRY!!!

    Reply
  • 5. brat6325  |  October 27, 2010 at 11:39 am

    I completely agree with you. this clas sis so much fun and I’m really learning alot.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Student Blog

This blog is the collective work of students enrolled in the Fundamentals of Effective Speech Class at Southern State Community College South Campus. We invite you to add your voice to the conversation. Just click the "add comment' button to share your ideas and suggestions.

Blog Stats

  • 166,658 hits

Important

If you see your image, link, name, etc. on this blog and don't want it here, please contact us and it will be removed immediately.

