A New View

October 30, 2010 at 7:44 pm 3 comments

Now that everyone is finished with their informative speeches, I can truly say that everyone did well and that I learned a lot. It was nice to learn more about the topics that everyone chose, but I mainly enjoyed getting to know about how they related to the person who chose the topic. Our speeches were a great way for us to see into each others’ lives to find out a person they are interested in, what their childhood was like, or their favorite hobby.

I feel that the audience did a good job responding to the speakers and providing a relaxing atmosphere for the speaker as well. I think that our next demonstrative speeches will engage the class even more and will show us more about our classmates. I’m still deciding on what my topic will be but I know that I want to do something that I can’t mess up even if I’m nervous. I also want to be very familiar with whatever I’m talking about so that I can be more personable and talk to the audience instead of giving a speech to it.

I do look forward to another chance to be able to do this though because I feel that I had my first speech a little too memorized because I practiced it several times before class and knew what wording I was going to use in some parts without having to think about it when I was actually giving my speech. I will be putting a lot of thought into my topic selection so I can improve on this and look forward to our next speeches!

Hannah

Entry filed under: informative speech, public speaking, Public Speaking Delivery, Reflecting on Experience, Uncategorized.

Canning Your Own Food Informative Speeches

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. shamilton22  |  November 9, 2010 at 8:51 pm

    Hannah, I really think that Blake and them making you laugh before your speeches is really cute, you still focus right away and if it was me I wouldn’t be able to stop laughing. You do a great job and I love the way you have referred to a lot of things from your childhood memories. I always enjoy your speeches.

    Reply
  • 2. Hannah  |  November 10, 2010 at 8:16 pm

    Thanks, Sharon! I have quite a hard time stopping once they get me going. I always enjoy your speeches too because you are passionate about your topic. I especially liked your rainbow in a cup! 🙂

    Reply
  • 3. shawnfarkas  |  November 17, 2010 at 10:06 am

    do not be so nervous you speeches are always good and full of emotion. emotion in a speech is the biggest part i think. the audience can feel it and be more into your speech.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Student Blog

This blog is the collective work of students enrolled in the Fundamentals of Effective Speech Class at Southern State Community College South Campus. We invite you to add your voice to the conversation. Just click the "add comment' button to share your ideas and suggestions.

Blog Stats

  • 165,770 hits

Important

If you see your image, link, name, etc. on this blog and don't want it here, please contact us and it will be removed immediately.

