Canning Your Own Food

October 30, 2010 at 7:38 pm 2 comments

Last Monday I gave my informative speech. I was the first to give my speech. I was not as nervous as I had been for my first speech, however I did have a topic that I am passionate about. When you go to the grocery store to purchase your food for the family the last thing you even consider is how many extra things are in your food. I gave my speech about canning your own food and the benefits of doing so. According to an Ohio University Fact Sheet, each year we consume and average of 1 to 2 pounds of insects in our food and we don’t even know it. Other than the benefit of knowing that you are the one who prepared the food for canning you also have the piece of mind that everything that is going into you jars are things that would be found in you home already and they are your germs. The biggest benefit that keeps me canning is the organic concept that we have grown the food ourselves in our garden. The second benefit is that it is a cost saver in the beginning it seems like it cost more because you have to purchase your jars.

I really enjoyed the two days of informative speeches that were given. I learned quite a few different things from different people. Pam introduced us to Weight Watchers and that fabulous chocolate cake. Brittany taught us about Diabetes and how it effects her family. Steven showed us that he can play his guitar behind his head. Bryce told us things about soccer, things I would have never learned due to my kids having no interest in it. Sharon told us about Topix.com something I have never even heard of. All in all it was a very informative two days in speech class.

Penni

Entry filed under: informative speech, public speaking, Reflecting on Experience, Uncategorized.

The Informative speeches were exciting to listen to. A New View

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. bluesparky2004  |  November 1, 2010 at 9:33 am

    Your canning speech brought back a lot of memories. I would help my grandmother, mother, and aunts can vegetables. I miss those days and my grandmothers homemade ketchup.

    Reply
  • 2. shamilton22  |  November 9, 2010 at 8:33 pm

    I thought your informative speech on canning was very interesting. I never realized how much work it does take though, but yet you made it seem so simple. I also did not realize that a lot of our food we buy in the stores are contaminated with insects. UGH! May consider canning too!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Student Blog

This blog is the collective work of students enrolled in the Fundamentals of Effective Speech Class at Southern State Community College South Campus. We invite you to add your voice to the conversation. Just click the "add comment' button to share your ideas and suggestions.

Blog Stats

  • 167,617 hits

Important

If you see your image, link, name, etc. on this blog and don't want it here, please contact us and it will be removed immediately.

