Fight or flight

November 1, 2010 at 12:11 pm 2 comments

I was not pleased with my speech that I presented last Wednesday on the tribes in Papua New Guinea. My original speech very long and I was told by my instructor to condense it to a few cards. My original introduction was this: The world is a big place full of humans, animals, plants and other life forms. When you think of the word “World”, you think of a big and broad place but if we stop and think about it for a moment and observe our surrounding area, you may think that, the word world might be too broad of a word. For the world is full of different individuals no matter what the situation is. For among the life forms there are more variations between race, religions, educations, and technologies, governments, families, economics, and even roles of women and men. There are similarities and differences among people even if they live a few hundred miles apart. Let’s look at three particular groups that live on this earth, this world and are in the same hemisphere, continent and island but in different regions.
And conclusion:
Even though these three separate societies (Mundugumer, Arapesh and Tchambouli) live in the same world, hemisphere, continent and island and only live 100 miles apart, they have so many variations. They live on the same island, have personality traits, roles, teaching of children morals, and have customs to marriage. In the U.S, we do the same thing. We live on this world, hemisphere, and continent but there are many variations between people within miles and feet from each other. We might have different views on marriage, children, and life but we are the same at heart. We are humans living united in this world and different in our individualities.

The body of my speech had plenty more information than presented but I condensed it on a Power Point. I memorized what I point on the power point so I can maintain eye contact and not rely on the notes. I practice the speech, try to develop a way to present by catching attention and was totally confident before entering the class. Once I settle behind the podium I freaked and lost my process. I got positive feedback on paper but the faces I seen was of confusion so I lost my confidence. I believe it is my fight or flight reflects in my body. I`m not much of public fighter, and flee from public eyes especially if I`m singled out.

 

Alex

Entry filed under: Experience & public speaking, informative speech, public speaking, Reflecting on Experience, Uncategorized.

I’ve Improved! WE DID IT!!!

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Hannah  |  November 10, 2010 at 8:29 pm

    I agree that it is a whole different game when you actually step in front of the class. It’s like no matter how confident you are before your speech, once it is actually time to give it, the nerves overtake the confidence. I thought you seemed much more confident in front of the class on your demonstrative speech and I know you will continue to get better!

    Hannah

    Reply
  • 2. pammy53  |  November 20, 2010 at 12:08 am

    I agree Alex, your eye contact has approved a great deal. You have that nice smile that goes along with the territory that seems to help you get the job done. I have enjoyed being in class with you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Student Blog

This blog is the collective work of students enrolled in the Fundamentals of Effective Speech Class at Southern State Community College South Campus. We invite you to add your voice to the conversation. Just click the "add comment' button to share your ideas and suggestions.

Blog Stats

  • 165,223 hits

Important

If you see your image, link, name, etc. on this blog and don't want it here, please contact us and it will be removed immediately.

