Stage Fight or Stage Excitement?

November 15, 2010 at 5:38 pm 2 comments

Public speaking is perceived harder than what is expected. For most people they already possess the ability from everyday casual conversation unconsciously thought. However, there is still a difference between a friendly one to one interaction than speaking before a group. Public speaking is structured with demands that require detailed planning. It requires formal language along with the method of delivery. This much work can cause a side effect to occur, and that side effect is anxiety related stage fight.

Stage fright is the fear of the unknown, and can be crippling when you are giving a speech. One piece of advice to use when this happens is to set your mind on doing your best. Shawna Johnson stated in The Art of Public Speaking , ” I was so nerves I couldn’t get anything right in the warm ups. But I wanted to do my best and end on a good note.” This statement can have the opposite effect. I.AR. “When , for some reason I am cool and self-assured, the speech is always a failure.”

On a good note , it is perfectly normal for the body to respond to stress by releasing adrenaline. This adrenaline can be used to the advantage , so you should think of it as stage excitement or enthusiasm. Otherwise , take a class , pick a topic that you care about, be thorough when you prepare and always try to practice with your friends.

Alex

Entry filed under: public speaking, Uncategorized.

Informative Speech: Cross Country One more speech to go!

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. kself89  |  November 18, 2010 at 5:47 pm

    I usually never get nervous talking in front of people. There was one speech I did in class that made me nerveous and I think it was the informative speech. I talked myself into having stage fright. I tried to talk myself out of it and it didnt work! I could tell and so could the audience. I think the reason I was so nerveous is because I was not 100% about my topic.

    Reply
  • 2. pammy53  |  November 20, 2010 at 12:34 am

    We all have bad days, where we just are not with it. But, I think stage fright in this class, has happened to a few of us. Along with the nerves being edgy, we all have done a excellent job.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Student Blog

This blog is the collective work of students enrolled in the Fundamentals of Effective Speech Class at Southern State Community College South Campus. We invite you to add your voice to the conversation. Just click the "add comment' button to share your ideas and suggestions.

Blog Stats

  • 167,529 hits

Important

If you see your image, link, name, etc. on this blog and don't want it here, please contact us and it will be removed immediately.

