We Have Spoken!!!

November 17, 2010 at 4:14 pm 4 comments

Well we have spoken and our voices have been heard. We have actually accomplished something that most of us thought we could never do. We all under-estimate ourselves at times, but this time we have proved that we can actually speak in public. By no means are we pros, but really who is? I am amazed at how this class has helped everyone, we have all come together and created such a comfortable environment and I really think that this has helped us all. I actually feel as though we are like a family now. We have all given different speeches on so many topics and learned so much from each other. We have created a comfort zone that I don’t believe anyone expected coming into this class. I know that coming into this class was one of the scariest things that I have ever done. I thought to myself, “what am I thinking, I can’t do this,” and yet I have. I am so glad I did too! I had always pictured myself in front of a group of people and speaking and most importantly making changes on certain issues that have impacted other people’s lives as well as my own in a bad way and make things better. I am the type of person who would love to make a difference in people’s lives, that is exactly why I want to become a nurse. I do believe that even when I am finished with this class, I will continue to speak on certain issues. I am not afraid anymore, and I sure feel better knowing that what I have to say could make a change for a better day. Good Luck To Everyone On Your Final Speeches! I have truly enjoyed getting to know each and every one of you.

Sharon

Entry filed under: Finding Your Voice, public speaking, Reflecting on Experience.

The Class My Demonstative Speech

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. ct10harmonb  |  November 17, 2010 at 5:24 pm

    Well i completly agree, this class was great and you were great to sharon. you are a great speaker and although you may not agree sometimes, you move people.

    Remember the unity back in communinty

    Reply
  • 2. kself89  |  November 19, 2010 at 10:59 am

    Sharon I think you are a great speaker too, you go outside of the box with your topics and talk about things that arnt always easy for you. I admire this I’m sure its not easy but you do a great job.

    Reply
  • 3. Blake14  |  November 21, 2010 at 3:27 pm

    I also agree that this class has really helped all of us to overcome something that we never would have imagined ourselves doing. I think you have done a very nice job this quarter on your speeches Sharon. I enjoy hearing what you have to say.

    Reply
  • 4. Shawn H  |  November 22, 2010 at 10:51 am

    I have been in situations to speak over many years. I have sung in front of thousands of people, been an electrical instructor, and a Cub Scout leader. I have the experience but have never been comfotable, and probably never will. We all fight the stigma of public speaking but the few that master it can become great.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Student Blog

This blog is the collective work of students enrolled in the Fundamentals of Effective Speech Class at Southern State Community College South Campus. We invite you to add your voice to the conversation. Just click the "add comment' button to share your ideas and suggestions.

Blog Stats

  • 167,617 hits

Important

If you see your image, link, name, etc. on this blog and don't want it here, please contact us and it will be removed immediately.

