Giving Opinions

November 22, 2010 at 8:37 am 3 comments

This class is different from most because we are allowed to express our opinions freely. I like it that we are not graded or our opinions aren’t held against us. It is important because everyone is different and as a class if we are going to work together we have to be able to express our views on certain things. Not only Candee but the class as a whole was open-minded when anyone shared an opinion!

The one thing I can say that I had trouble with during this class is getting extra points of contribution. I know a lot of people received extra points for going first and I would have liked to have been one of those people. It’s not that I don’t want to cooperate it’s just that it takes me longer to process my ideals. I’m still running ideals through my head about what I’m going to do my persuasive speech on. Although I have thought of a lot of things I want to make sure I choose the right topic and sometimes it takes me a while to do that.

Kayla S.

Entry filed under: confidence & public speaking, Finding Your Voice, public speaking, Reflecting on Experience, Uncategorized.

Persuasive Speech Learning Confidence

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Shawn H  |  November 22, 2010 at 10:29 am

    I know how you feel. I wanted to be one of the first to do my speeches but procrastiation, along with nerves, will not allow me. Even when I am ready I can not volunteer.

    Reply
  • 2. fill7718  |  November 22, 2010 at 1:31 pm

    I wish I could have stood before everyone first too but like Shawn, my nervessnous wont allow it either. I think that I have become better at giving speeches though thanks to this class. Candee is really great and all of the students has made me feel more comfortable with myself than any other class that I have taken.

    Reply
  • 3. shawnfarkas  |  November 24, 2010 at 9:10 am

    i feel that we had a good class. it has opened my eyes to a lot of things. its hard to overcome the nerves, but i am sure one day they will all go away.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Student Blog

This blog is the collective work of students enrolled in the Fundamentals of Effective Speech Class at Southern State Community College South Campus. We invite you to add your voice to the conversation. Just click the "add comment' button to share your ideas and suggestions.

Blog Stats

  • 167,674 hits

Important

If you see your image, link, name, etc. on this blog and don't want it here, please contact us and it will be removed immediately.

