Growing as a Speaker

November 23, 2010 at 9:29 am 5 comments

When we first started the class I dreaded talking in front of any groups whether it be in a classroom or even just out in public. I have always been able to talk to another person and be capable of carrying on a conversation with them.  After going through speech class and being “forced” to conquer my fears it has really helped me in real life situations.  I find myself not being afraid to speak up in front of groups, which could be on the basketball team, at church, or even at family events. This class has helped me tremendously in a positive way and I can only hope to continue improving each time.

– Blake

Entry filed under: Fear & public speaking, Group Communication, public speaking, Public Speaking Tips, Reflecting on Experience, Uncategorized.

Leading into our informative speech the end

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Anthony Richendollar  |  November 24, 2010 at 9:22 am

    I know exactly what you are saying.

    Reply
  • 2. Lennie  |  November 24, 2010 at 9:59 am

    I feel the same way as you Blake, before starting this class I never spoke out even in most family functions, but this class has helped me to open up and speak out. It has made me come out of my shy self and now I find myself speaking out even to strangers. Im really glad I had to take this class, it has helped me in so many ways.

    Reply
  • 3. jessechinn  |  November 24, 2010 at 5:14 pm

    Ive gotten better at speaking up. That was my biggest problem.

    Reply
  • 4. rich8732  |  November 24, 2010 at 10:01 pm

    Me too!! I think Everyone felt that way and I think we have all gotten better at it now!!

    Reply
  • 5. bigg9444  |  November 27, 2010 at 9:34 pm

    I dont know if I have gotten better or not but everyone else seems to do great!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Student Blog

This blog is the collective work of students enrolled in the Fundamentals of Effective Speech Class at Southern State Community College South Campus. We invite you to add your voice to the conversation. Just click the "add comment' button to share your ideas and suggestions.

Blog Stats

  • 164,535 hits

Important

If you see your image, link, name, etc. on this blog and don't want it here, please contact us and it will be removed immediately.

