the end

November 24, 2010 at 10:14 am 2 comments

So, as we draw to an end of a very fun class this is a time to think of what all we learned.  I have gotten a lot better with not only writing a speech, but how to control my nervousness. I learned a lot in this class and this was my favorite class of the quarter. Even though I joked around a lot I did learn and pay attention most of the time. This was a class where we could have fun and learn at the same time. The posters where fun and they got us to meet our classmates.

This class was  a lot harder to read to than I had thought. I took a speech class in high school and it was no problem to get up in front of my peers and read what I wrote. In this class we had people from all walks of life. We  had different age groups and different backgrounds. If you paid attention when the others where speaking you could really learn a lot about that person and even life in general sometime. Different generations came together and got a long. That’s hard to come by. Everyday I hear someone complain about the younger generation and that bothers me. I have worked really hard to get where I am at. Many people I know that are my age have done the same. So when I hear this I do stand up for my generation. In this class that was not a barrier that had to be over come. Everyone could understand where the others where coming from. So hopefully this class gave the older generation a better view of todays younger generation.

Shawn F.

Entry filed under: Experience & public speaking, public speaking, Public Speaking Evaluation, Reflecting on Experience, Uncategorized.

Growing as a Speaker I will miss this class

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. shamilton22  |  November 28, 2010 at 8:45 pm

    I totally agree Shawn… I have heard that too about the younger generation, but i have not experienced any problems with the younger generation. I have actuallly learned a lot from them. I actually like having younger adults in my classes. Whenever I have needed help, or they needed help, we helped each other.

    Reply
  • 2. osbo7834  |  November 28, 2010 at 9:31 pm

    I am young, but not high school young, and I find it kind of intersting to hear about what is going on in the “younger” generations head.. I know everything has changed so much just since i was in high school,and i think we learn something interesting from everyone young or old.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Student Blog

This blog is the collective work of students enrolled in the Fundamentals of Effective Speech Class at Southern State Community College South Campus. We invite you to add your voice to the conversation. Just click the "add comment' button to share your ideas and suggestions.

Blog Stats

  • 166,687 hits

Important

If you see your image, link, name, etc. on this blog and don't want it here, please contact us and it will be removed immediately.

