My Last Speech

November 29, 2010 at 3:10 pm 2 comments

I have improved greatly over my time spent in this class.I’d like to share with everyone what helped me. I started not using my notecards as much and simply just talked. In my first two speeches most of the comments were about me not looking up at everyone and my welcome. The reason for that was because I was reading the notecards. I tend to talk lower while I’m reading. It a lot like having a conversation when I do it that way. I have grown greatly as a speaker and the biggest obstacle to overcome was my fear. I still have trouble with that but it’s definitely better now.The best topic to choose is something you know. You want to be able to stand up and talk about a certain topic without any notecards. That way you have credibility. I don’t believe that research is enough credibility to give the best speech. When someone talks about personal experience, it seems to get the message out more because facts become reality. I’m going to miss this class a lot. It was lots of fun and learning at the same time. Thanks Candee!

Entry filed under: public speaking, Public Speaking Delivery, Public Speaking Tips, Reflecting on Experience, Uncategorized.

Last Day! :( My previous experience of public speeking

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. steven016  |  November 29, 2010 at 3:15 pm

    Very nice blog. You do speak more quietly when your reading from your note cards. Next time you do a speech just make sure you know enough about your topic to pick yourself back up if you forget what you were planning on saying next.

    Reply
  • 2. minot1990  |  November 29, 2010 at 4:19 pm

    I understand where you are coming from. I get nervous standing in front of the people so I would resort to the cards or paper but I have gotten a lit bit better since taking this class. Candee is a very helpful instructor.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Student Blog

This blog is the collective work of students enrolled in the Fundamentals of Effective Speech Class at Southern State Community College South Campus. We invite you to add your voice to the conversation. Just click the "add comment' button to share your ideas and suggestions.

Blog Stats

  • 165,223 hits

Important

If you see your image, link, name, etc. on this blog and don't want it here, please contact us and it will be removed immediately.

