What I got out of Speech Class

December 1, 2010 at 10:48 am 1 comment

I almost didn’t take a speech class this quarter and it was only by chance that I did end up getting into it. But looking back I’m so glad that I did end up finding myself in speech. I never thought of a speech class as that helpful to me because I have given small speeches before and done fine with them so I didn’t feel this was going to be challenging or even worth my time at the beginning of the quarter. The only reason that I did take a speech class was to have enough credit hours to run cross-country. However I found it to be much more than just a way to spend more time. I never was very comfortable playing my guitar in front of people, especially when I’m the center of attention, and because I did almost all of my speeches with it I have become a better guitar player and speech giverer, er’. Not only that but the people that I met in speech class really showed me diversity in a small group. I didn’t realize I could even get that comfortable around people I had just met. This class has taught me how to give speeches in a more professional way and deliver them to a diverse crowd more effectively.

 

Steve

Entry filed under: public speaking, Reflecting on Experience, Uncategorized.

The Last Day of Speech Class Thank You Candee

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. purd6773  |  December 1, 2010 at 2:36 pm

    I wasn’t very fond of speech class at the beginning of the quarter but as time went on I started to like it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Student Blog

This blog is the collective work of students enrolled in the Fundamentals of Effective Speech Class at Southern State Community College South Campus. We invite you to add your voice to the conversation. Just click the "add comment' button to share your ideas and suggestions.

Blog Stats

  • 167,617 hits

Important

If you see your image, link, name, etc. on this blog and don't want it here, please contact us and it will be removed immediately.

