Speech Jitters

January 10, 2011 at 9:30 pm 4 comments

So, these first few days of speech class have already relieved some stress for me and making it a little easier for me not to be so nervous when I give a speech. I have learned a lot of techniques and tips to help me when the time comes for me to give my speech.

First off I have learned that there is not one perfect speech. I am a perfectionist in a variety of ways and this lets a lot of pressure off of my back. I am a nervous, quiet person and worry a lot about talking in front of a group of people and to know that is okay to stumble a couple of times is a tremendous relief. Kinesics is an interesting word I found that may affect my delivery of speech. I fear that my gestures and body motions will send the wrong message to the audience. In preparation for my speech I hope that this will be something that I can work on and improve through experience.

Another concept that appealed to me was the idea of committing yourself to the goals of your group when working together. I enjoy working in small groups because it gets the job done and makes things easier. When everyone works together the project will most likely result in a good grade. In the past I have had bad experiences with a group member not participating but still gets the credit.

In this speech class the small groups really help me communicate with different people and get to know them which will make it easier for me to give a speech in front of them. I have talked with a couple of classmates and they say that they are nervous about this class and getting up in front of everyone and it is a good feeling that I am not alone and feel the same way.

I hope that this class will help me become better at communicating with others and I hope that I succeed and have fun doing it.

 

Lindsay

Entry filed under: public speaking, Public Speaking Tips, Reflecting on Experience, Uncategorized.

Speak for People; Not Faces Speech Class and the Career I Want

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kristin Ford  |  March 30, 2011 at 1:30 pm

    I felt very nervous when I walked into Speech class the first evening. By the time class was over I also felt like a lot of stress was gone and being faced with the new challenge would help me grow as a person.

    Reply
  • 2. Sandra Yazell  |  March 30, 2011 at 7:04 pm

    I completely agree with you, I felt the same way. But today in my English class I felt more confident about speaking in front my class because of what Mrs. Basford said yesterday. Mostly about confidence and I saw how confident everyone was when they were speaking in the Speech class as well. It made me feel more pumped about speaking directly to a large group of people.

    Reply
  • 3. Kellie  |  March 30, 2011 at 9:08 pm

    I too was very nervous my first day of speech. I was praying that I did not know anyone that was in the class because that would make it that much harder to get up in front of the class. Mrs. B is very inspiring to me we all do need a voice out there and I am one of those that just keep mine to muself because im afraid what others will think or it wont come out right and I will offend someone. I feel that in this class it will help me overcome my fears of speaking in front of my peers.

    Reply
    • 4. Kellie  |  March 30, 2011 at 9:09 pm

      “myself”

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Student Blog

This blog is the collective work of students enrolled in the Fundamentals of Effective Speech Class at Southern State Community College South Campus. We invite you to add your voice to the conversation. Just click the "add comment' button to share your ideas and suggestions.

Blog Stats

  • 164,581 hits

Important

If you see your image, link, name, etc. on this blog and don't want it here, please contact us and it will be removed immediately.

