Be Positive

January 11, 2011 at 10:42 pm 1 comment

Coming into this speech class, I think I am just as nervous as everyone else is.  The thought of standing in front of many people who I am not too familiar with and presenting a speech, definitely does not set to well in my stomach.  There are, however, some things that I have already learned from this class that will help calm my nervousness.

The most helpful hint that I have learned is to take all of my stage fright and turn it into positive nervousness.  One step in doing so is to prepare, and not just the night before.  Choosing the right topic can be hard, but as long as you pick one that you are actually interested in, your level of stress should decrease.  Also, practicing the first minute of your speech time and time again will be a great help.  The first thirty to sixty seconds of your speech is usually when you are the most nervous, so if you can get over the fear of beginning the speech, the rest should be a breeze.

Knowing that not everyone can see your nervousness will also help create positive energy.  When I make speeches, my knees shake and my voice feels very shaky.  I always thought that everyone in the audience noticed how nervous I was, but knowing that most people can’t tell, makes me feel a lot better.

I also read about some examples of what to do right before making your speech.  Right before getting up to speak, tighten and relax your muscles to relieve your stress.  Breathing in and out slowly before speaking will also calm you down.

Learning all of these tips from class are going to help me calm down and turn all of my normal stage fright into positive nervousness, and I hope they will help you too!

Regan

Entry filed under: Fear & public speaking, public speaking, Public Speaking Tips, Uncategorized.

Speaking For Your Future Why Speech Class?

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Kendra  |  January 19, 2011 at 4:12 pm

    They helped. 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Student Blog

This blog is the collective work of students enrolled in the Fundamentals of Effective Speech Class at Southern State Community College South Campus. We invite you to add your voice to the conversation. Just click the "add comment' button to share your ideas and suggestions.

Blog Stats

  • 165,127 hits

Important

If you see your image, link, name, etc. on this blog and don't want it here, please contact us and it will be removed immediately.

