First Day in Speech Class

January 11, 2011 at 6:53 pm 1 comment

There was so much going on in my mind the first day I walked into my speech class. The first thing was “Oh great I have to speak in front of all these people when I have absolutely no idea who any of them are.” I am very nervous when it comes to speaking in front of a large group of people, especially when there are a lot of unfamiliar faces. I tend to get embarrassed also when I share a speech because I never feel like its good enough. I always feel like people are laughing at me when I’m standing up there in front of the room. People, teachers tell me that I need to speak up because I talk so quietly. Well, there is a reason for that.  It’s called NERVES and they are going crazy when I have to talk in front of people. I have given very few speeches in my life but that’s going to change now that I’m in a speech class.

We have had to read a few chapters so far and they’ve been about how to deliver your speech, what to do when you’re in front of a large group such as gestures and body movements and also ways to keep yourself calm before it’s your turn to speak. I think these chapters will help me a little when it comes time to give my first speech. I say that now but when it’s actually my time to speak I think I will be more nervous than I thought. By the end of the quarter though, I hope to overcome my fears of public speaking.

Sheila

Entry filed under: Fear & public speaking, public speaking, Reflecting on Experience, Uncategorized.

Public Speaking A Comparison to Speech and Acting

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Trish  |  February 16, 2011 at 11:17 am

    I believe EVERYONE experiences sooooo many variations of ”stage fright”. I know how much nerve it takes to get up in front of our class and speak. What a bold thing to do! And you have done it! I applaud you and the fact that even with your inward style of portrayel, you still find it in you to stand up and say something. I don’t have the direct stage fright issues some people have, but that simply makes me admire those who do even more. It takes true guts to overcome something that is so prevelant in your life. You do great! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Student Blog

This blog is the collective work of students enrolled in the Fundamentals of Effective Speech Class at Southern State Community College South Campus. We invite you to add your voice to the conversation. Just click the "add comment' button to share your ideas and suggestions.

Blog Stats

  • 167,529 hits

Important

If you see your image, link, name, etc. on this blog and don't want it here, please contact us and it will be removed immediately.

