Speech Class and the Career I Want

January 11, 2011 at 10:53 am 2 comments

I signed up for this class for a high school credit. I didn’t really want to take it but I also didn’t want to take a Literature class. I am not the best at giving a speech. I get really nervous when I talk in front of a class. I asked people who had taken Speech if they liked it and they all said that they did. I asked if they had to get up in front of the class a lot they said yeah a little bit. Hearing that part is what scared me.

I decided that I needed to become a better speaker for the career I want. A Vet Tech has to talk to a lot of people and listen to everything they say so you know what needs to be done to the animal. Now that I have been in the class I don’t think that I will have a problem. I have been in front of the class three times and was not nervous but that could because I had people up there with me.

I am actually excited to do my first speech now whether it goes well is still to come. I will be reading two poems about Buck (my horse) and me. I have had Buck for eight years now and would not trade him for anything. I love him with all my heart and tons more. My mom’s boyfriend wrote the poems because he loved seeing the bond that Buck and I had together.

Cheyenne

Entry filed under: Fear & public speaking, public speaking, Reflecting on Experience, Uncategorized.

Speech Jitters Things People Should Think About

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. dylanmullen  |  January 25, 2011 at 1:16 pm

    I am sure you do have a strong bond with your horse, Buck. This class you should talk about what anyone is interested in. And in your case, it’s your horse and the career you want. Be sure to include what everyone likes including you.

    Reply
  • 2. afreeland2011  |  March 16, 2011 at 10:20 pm

    Buck means so much to you! Well, I never knew that. Good luck, I’ll probably see you next quarter in my classes!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Student Blog

This blog is the collective work of students enrolled in the Fundamentals of Effective Speech Class at Southern State Community College South Campus. We invite you to add your voice to the conversation. Just click the "add comment' button to share your ideas and suggestions.

Blog Stats

  • 164,581 hits

Important

If you see your image, link, name, etc. on this blog and don't want it here, please contact us and it will be removed immediately.

