A Weight Off My Shoulders

January 12, 2011 at 9:40 pm 3 comments

Since I have joined the class I have been a nervous wreck because I am not one who likes to give speeches. I tend to get very nervous and when I do my speech goes downhill, but with reading the book it has really helped me out a bunch. I really like the book because each chapter talks about something different and it also goes into great detail about each thing. Chapter One for instance contains a whole section about nervousness and that part really interested me because the things they talked about in that section like “Don’t Expect Perfection.”

I tend to put a lot of pressure on myself and when I was reading through that part it felt as if a weight was being taking off my shoulders because at times I know I am hard on myself and I know that no one is perfect but after reading about it, it finally clicked. I tend to analyze the others speakers then compare them to myself and I always degrade myself for it. Now I won’t think so negative about myself. Why? Because everyone makes mistakes.

In Chapter Two what I liked most was the section “Avoid Prejudging The Speaker.” We all do it but I don’t think we do it intentionally. If you judge the speaker by what he/she looks like then you are not being fair because then you don’t even listen to what the speaker has to say, and you are not being a good listener. That section also talks about how you might not always agree with someone about their position and if you don’t that’s fine. You should listen though for evidence to see if they support their idea and if they do have reason then you can judge that person according to their research not their appearance.

Leeza Rickey

Entry filed under: public speaking, Public Speaking Tips, Reflecting on Experience, Uncategorized.

Ethics and Public Speaking Speech A Doorway To Opportunities

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kendra  |  January 19, 2011 at 4:08 pm

    Leeza- I totally agree with the part on being hard on ourselves. I get so frustrated sometimes because there are certain things about myself that I feel like I can never make “quite right.” But it’s so true that no one is perfect and I think it is so important that we always remember that it’s ok that we don’t have everything put together all the time. I know you’ll do just fine and I hope you enjoy the rest of the class! 😀

    Reply
  • 2. reganelizabeth11  |  January 20, 2011 at 2:02 pm

    Leeza, I am the same way, I get so nervous when I give a speech! The book definitely gives us great tips on how to get over being nervous, such as that we shouldn’t expect perfection, like you mentioned.

    Reply
  • 3. paul  |  March 9, 2011 at 11:44 pm

    i love how you point how you out that we do not have to prefect everything we say or do. it is ok to come in second place. i also love how you talked about how you should avoid prejudging speakers before you hear them or see them. you did a great job

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Student Blog

This blog is the collective work of students enrolled in the Fundamentals of Effective Speech Class at Southern State Community College South Campus. We invite you to add your voice to the conversation. Just click the "add comment' button to share your ideas and suggestions.

Blog Stats

  • 165,228 hits

Important

If you see your image, link, name, etc. on this blog and don't want it here, please contact us and it will be removed immediately.

