Early Assessment

January 12, 2011 at 11:25 am 2 comments

During the fall quarter of this school year, I was informed that I needed a speech class in order for me to receive my associate’s degree. I scheduled this class for that reason only, thinking it was going to be one of those classes where you don’t really learn much. Man was I really in for a surprise. I’ve learned more in the first three days of class than I thought I would throughout the entire quarter. The best thing about what I’ve learned is that it’s not useless information that I’ll never use, like calculus, it’s information that will help improve one of the most important skills in life, being able to speak effectively in public. The things that I have found so far that will help me out the most is turning negative nervousness into positive nervousness and knowing that my speeches will not be perfect.

The biggest thing that almost everyone has to deal with while speaking to an audience is obviously nervousness. When I am nervous before a speech, I think of negative thoughts like, “I’m such a horrible speaker.” These types of thoughts cause me to lose confidence in myself and my speaking ability, usually resulting in a less than impressive speech. I’ve learned that it will help calm you down if you turn those negative thoughts and that negative nervousness into positive nervousness and into positive thoughts. Even thinking of your stage fright as stage excitement will help you get focused and energized for your speech. Turning my negative nervousness into positive nervousness will help me gain confidence in my speeches, hopefully improving them.

Throughout my life, I have been a perfectionist. I’ve always had to do everything exactly right, no matter what it was. I’ve learned that expecting your speeches to be perfect makes them seem more like a performance rather than a communication with your audience. I’m not perfect in conversations with friends, so I shouldn’t expect my speeches to be. I believe this will also give me confidence and it will help me calm down before and during my speeches.

Through only three classes, I’ve already became a better speaker. The crazy thing is, I haven’t even given a speech yet, I just know that the things I have learned up to this point will undoubtedly help me with my speaking ability.

Drew

Entry filed under: Group Communication, public speaking, Public Speaking Evaluation, Public Speaking Tips, Reflecting on Experience, Uncategorized.

We Speak Speaking up when others cannot

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. ally  |  January 19, 2011 at 7:09 pm

    Hey drew (aka- the king). Man I’ve learned a lot already too. I think it’s really important to turn negative thoughts in to positive ones like you said. And I definitely agree with you saying you are a perfectionist. You really are, with literally everything.

    Reply
  • 2. afreeland2011  |  March 16, 2011 at 10:22 pm

    You and Ally are great together! : ) – And great job. You’re not afraid to be yourself and that quality is important in men and women! I will miss our class after we graduate : ( -GOOD LUCK!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Student Blog

This blog is the collective work of students enrolled in the Fundamentals of Effective Speech Class at Southern State Community College South Campus. We invite you to add your voice to the conversation. Just click the "add comment' button to share your ideas and suggestions.

Blog Stats

  • 167,529 hits

Important

If you see your image, link, name, etc. on this blog and don't want it here, please contact us and it will be removed immediately.

