First Week of Speech Class

January 12, 2011 at 3:58 pm 2 comments

As I walked in my speech class last Monday morning I was a little scared to say the least.  I’ve never been very outgoing, however I am not shy at all.  Coming into this class though was very scary.  I knew little about speech, I knew practically nothing about giving one, and it was all just a very scary concept to me.

As I sat down and Mrs. Basford started the class my worries became less and less as the class period went on.  Mrs. Basford is a very energetic person and she seemed like the kind of person who was ready to motivate, which was exactly what I needed.  As we got into talking about speech and looking at stuff in the book I became more at ease.  As we joined for our following class on Wednesday I had some time to look through our book and see some different topics and hints about how to prepare for a speech, practice, and present an effective speech.

From looking at different chapters I learned how to listen effectively to someone giving a speech, and how to take stuff out of their speech that might connect to me in my life.  I learned that you shouldn’t listen to hard to a person who is giving the speech because then you are likely to forget the whole point of their speech and you will wind up taking nothing from their speech that might help you in the long run.

Like I said before I learned how to prepare for a speech, practice and present a speech.  The book helped me a lot when learning about these things.  I learned to turn nervous energy into positive energy.  How to be positive when getting ready to present your speech, as in not thinking you’re going to mess up, or forget to mention something.  Also, that you should make eye contact with your audience and not fidget while giving your speech.

Last, the group work we did also helped me tremendously.  Getting to talk with other peers in my class and getting their perspective on different things and just learning more that way helped me out too.  Overall in these past three days I have learned a lot, now I know more about speech than I have my whole life, and I feel more confident about giving my speech.

Kate

Entry filed under: public speaking, Public Speaking Tips, Reflecting on Experience, Uncategorized.

Sam I Am The Art of Speech

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lindsay  |  January 24, 2011 at 6:43 pm

    Just wanted to let you know that you are not the only nervous one in this class. I was extremely nervous walking into this class on the first day. Unlike you I am a very shy person so that made me worry even more. I agree with you ever since we have been going through the book it has been getting easier and since I have given my first speech I feel much more relieved and that the class will not be too bad. Also wanted to say that your poems were very nice and you did a great job. You made great eye contact, spoke very clearly, and you really connected with the audience. Great Job!

    Reply
  • 2. natasha  |  January 25, 2011 at 11:03 pm

    Kate,
    I think you did a great job when you read those poems. Since your poems were about sisters, they were very easy for anyone who is or has a sister to connect to. Also, I’m really glad you decided to share something that you had written yourself. Many people would be too shy or fearful to do that, so I’m glad you opened up to us!
    Natasha

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Student Blog

This blog is the collective work of students enrolled in the Fundamentals of Effective Speech Class at Southern State Community College South Campus. We invite you to add your voice to the conversation. Just click the "add comment' button to share your ideas and suggestions.

Blog Stats

  • 165,348 hits

Important

If you see your image, link, name, etc. on this blog and don't want it here, please contact us and it will be removed immediately.

