Sam I Am

January 12, 2011 at 3:54 pm 2 comments

Well like most of my fellow classmates, I am not even sure what instructor wants us to blog about. The one thing that she keeps pushing in class is our feelings. Well, I have lots of feelings about public speaking. I find myself nervous, scared, anxious ,and overwhelmed at times when I think about getting up in front of the class and talking about things that matter to me but they could probably care less about. All I can do is try to make my speeches interesting to the class so that they can listen and enjoy them with the hope of learning something. This might sound bad but I find comfort in the fact that everyone in the class has the same feelings about actually giving speeches as I do. It makes me feel like we are on a team and we will all progress together  as we give our speeches and grow together as speakers.

Our first “speech” is a reading. I will be reading Dr. Suess’s Green Eggs and Ham. It may seem like I picked it because it is easy to read but that’s not true, although it is a plus. When my older sister and I were young our Mammaw would read many of his books to us when we would have “sleepover” at Mammaw and pappaw’s house. My sister and I so enjoyed the time we shared with Mammaw and pappaw we can almost recite the books word for word. I am so happy that I had a mammaw that loved me and my sister so much that she read to us even as we got older. Some of my best memories of my mammaw and pappaw are of them reading and singing to us. Now that both my Mammaw and Pappaw have passed, I feel even more blessed to have these memories.

Nichole

Entry filed under: Public Reading, public speaking, Reflecting on Experience, Uncategorized.

Positive Impacts of Speech First Week of Speech Class

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. cheynbuck  |  January 23, 2011 at 11:19 am

    I like that Nicole choose a book that has meaning to her. I was thinking about reading the letter that I wrote to my Step-dad Robin at his funeral, but I wasn’t for sure if I would be able to handle it or not. So I picked to read the two poems about my horse Buck and me.

    Reply
  • 2. afreeland2011  |  March 16, 2011 at 10:31 pm

    Wow, today’s speech was WOW. Good job. I’m sorry you lost people close to you. I never saw that side of you. I’m glad you shared it with us. I think twice about texting and driving

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Student Blog

This blog is the collective work of students enrolled in the Fundamentals of Effective Speech Class at Southern State Community College South Campus. We invite you to add your voice to the conversation. Just click the "add comment' button to share your ideas and suggestions.

Blog Stats

  • 165,228 hits

Important

If you see your image, link, name, etc. on this blog and don't want it here, please contact us and it will be removed immediately.

