Speaking up when others cannot

January 12, 2011 at 12:50 pm 2 comments

At this time in my life public speaking sometimes can be a big part of what I do. Being around people who cannot care for themselves gives more reason to speak up for them. In the last year I have stepped into a situation where I consider myself a caregiver, a teacher, and most of all a speaker. Taking this class seemed to be an easy choice for me. Although speaking in front of people doesn’t bother me, my public speaking skills could use quite a bit of work. My interests in speaking in front of a group doesn’t involve lecturing about statistics or facts but I would like to be prepared to do so if necessary.

So far the class has been very laid back and comforting. The teacher and students seem great which makes it easier to speak in front of them. In our first 3 classes we have gone a little over the whole book and focused on a few chapters in particular. One of the biggest things that has stood out to me was to remember through every speech I write or give, not one will turn out perfect. This sticks out a lot to me. Remembering this may save me a lot of stress in the long run. Over all I am very anxious to see how I grow as a public speaker by the end of this quarter.

Melissa

Entry filed under: public speaking, Public Speaking Tips, Reflecting on Experience, Uncategorized.

Early Assessment Set Your Nerves Aside and Go For It!

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. shlynn22  |  January 26, 2011 at 1:21 pm

    You are very motivated and have self-confidence. Visualization is very helpful before giving a speech.

    You have the determination to do very well in this class.

    Reply
  • 2. Trish Hall  |  March 7, 2011 at 11:21 am

    I realize this isn’t your demo blog, but reading through everyone’s posts, this one caught my attention. I think it is incredible the strength you have as a person. You stand in a situation where others might easily crumble. You work, go to school, and live on your own might. The job you do takes incredible personal awareness, and ANYONE in any type of care setting such as yours, have immense personal value. I commend you whole heartedly for doing such solid actions at such a young age. You’re an amazing, strong and hard working girl. Your reflection of your situation shows how beautiful your heart is. So smile 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Student Blog

This blog is the collective work of students enrolled in the Fundamentals of Effective Speech Class at Southern State Community College South Campus. We invite you to add your voice to the conversation. Just click the "add comment' button to share your ideas and suggestions.

Blog Stats

  • 166,736 hits

Important

If you see your image, link, name, etc. on this blog and don't want it here, please contact us and it will be removed immediately.

