The Art of Speech

January 12, 2011 at 6:16 pm 2 comments

As I signed up for speech class, I had no worries.  I have always been completely comfortable in my skin and able to talk in front of huge audiences.  In my seventh grade Language Arts class, I started my love for speaking in front of audiences.  We had to pick a slip of paper and had three minutes to get ready for a three to five minute speech.  I aced every single one due to my ability to ramble.  My teacher made the speeches fun and stress-free.  However, at that young age, I did not realize there were so many ways to mess up a speech!  Who knew that rambling could go wrong?  I surely did not know that.

Sometimes, it’s smarter to be concise and to the point.  For example, I was in Mock Trial for two years in high school.  Mock Trial is an extra-curricular activity where there are lawyers and witnesses that work on a fictional case.  I was a lawyer for both years and I learned how to be forceful and to the point.  I had to keep my opening statement to a maximum of five minutes and had to make as many points as possible to state my case.  I was the person that spoke first my first year.  It was a lot of pressure.  Thankfully, I had written my speech previously and had practiced it enough that I wasn’t too nervous.  Because I made my points in a orderly fashion and I did not ramble, I was awarded with best lawyer for my case.  It was a great honor and I owe it to the fact that I could speak well.

Speech does not seem like it should be so important, but it is.  Job interviews, other college courses, and  protests need the ability to speak.  This course is extremely important and I am excited more about the art of speech.

Jenna

 

Entry filed under: public speaking, Reflecting on Experience, Uncategorized.

First Week of Speech Class Ethics and Public Speaking

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Alisha  |  January 24, 2011 at 12:14 pm

    I wish that at my school they started public speaking at a younger age. I love that you are so comfortable in front of the class and I hope that after this class I will be as comfortable and maybe be able to ramble and have it sound convincing.

    ALISHA

    Reply
  • 2. trishhall  |  March 21, 2011 at 2:26 pm

    You should invest in a big cape with SJ on it for SUPER JENNA!!! 🙂 You have very definate opinions, and I say that’s awesome. It’s great to know exactly who you are and not be afraid of what anyone is going to think or say. I’m just saying, if you had a Saturday morning cartoon, I’d watch it. 🙂 Take care

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Student Blog

This blog is the collective work of students enrolled in the Fundamentals of Effective Speech Class at Southern State Community College South Campus. We invite you to add your voice to the conversation. Just click the "add comment' button to share your ideas and suggestions.

Blog Stats

  • 166,736 hits

Important

If you see your image, link, name, etc. on this blog and don't want it here, please contact us and it will be removed immediately.

