Which would you choose? The Casket or the Eulogy…..?

January 12, 2011 at 9:19 am 2 comments

Some say you can’t teach an old dog new tricks. I’m not really an old dog but compared to the other students, well, I could be their mom. I guess it should be easier to speak out in front of people as you get older, but I’m not sure it is really that way. As a mother of 4 and a pastor’s wife, there are times when I have to speak before a crowd. This is a huge dread for me and I avoid it whenever possible. Luckily, my husband is great in front of a crowd so that gets me off the hook quite often. However, as much as I dread speaking out, even in this class, I am looking forward to learning how to give an appropriate speech and hopefully have more confidence when I do so. I would love to be able to stand in front of the crowd and not be totally horrified.

After reading several chapters in our book, I feel like I am already learning and looking at speaking differently.  I was one of the people who felt like giving a speech was more of  a performance instead of realizing it is simply communication. It seems to me that when the speaker is confident, it puts the audience at ease. However, when the speaker is unprepared and obviously nervous, the audience is uncomfortable. I hope to learn how not to be so nervous, or at least how to use that nervous energy constructively.   I also want to be a good listener, with good ethics, and not be judgemental of people who are different from me. And if given the choice of reading the eulogy at a funeral or being the one in the casket, I definitely choose reading the eulogy…

Melinda

Entry filed under: public speaking, Public Speaking Tips, Reflecting on Experience, storytelling, Uncategorized.

Delivering a Speech. Everyone is Different

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. o0jenna0o  |  January 25, 2011 at 3:18 pm

    I love how you brought the reading back to what was brought up in the book about the casket or eulogy. It’s a hard point and it makes a person think hard about how fearful they can get. I’m glad you wouldn’t choose the casket.

    Jenna

    Reply
  • 2. wood6224  |  February 16, 2011 at 12:02 pm

    I agree completly with you Melinda. It is very hard communicate with your audience, especially when you know your being graded on it. A way that helps me a little bit is to just not worry about my grade so much and give my speech as casually as I can.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Student Blog

This blog is the collective work of students enrolled in the Fundamentals of Effective Speech Class at Southern State Community College South Campus. We invite you to add your voice to the conversation. Just click the "add comment' button to share your ideas and suggestions.

Blog Stats

  • 164,535 hits

Important

If you see your image, link, name, etc. on this blog and don't want it here, please contact us and it will be removed immediately.

