Will I End Up with a Positive Attitude Toward Public Speaking?

January 12, 2011 at 2:05 pm 1 comment

I signed up for this class because it was required for my major. If it wasn’t required I probably wouldn’t have taken it. When it comes to speaking in front of people I am really nervous. I feel like someone, if not everyone is always judging me and I feel like my speech or presentation is not good enough. I have tried a few techniques to calm myself before I have to go in front of people. Nothing seems to work.

I really don’t think this class pertains to the Medical Assisting field because usually medical assistants do not have to get up in front of a crowd and speak. Some things that I have seen in the book that would help me prepare for speaking in front of people are change your nervousness into positive energy, never be negative, and remember never judge anyone.

I hope by taking this class I can come out with a positive attitude towards speaking in front of people. Everyone in the class seems pretty nice and I don’t think they would judge anyone, but you never know. I hope that by the end of this class I come out with a positive attitude about public speaking.

 

Amber

Entry filed under: Fear & public speaking, public speaking, Reflecting on Experience, Uncategorized.

Set Your Nerves Aside and Go For It! Positive Impacts of Speech

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. brittanycarroll  |  January 21, 2011 at 7:24 pm

    Im in medical assisting to and in a way this class will help us. think about it when you have to explain a new diet or medacation to your patient you will be giving them a speech.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Student Blog

This blog is the collective work of students enrolled in the Fundamentals of Effective Speech Class at Southern State Community College South Campus. We invite you to add your voice to the conversation. Just click the "add comment' button to share your ideas and suggestions.

Blog Stats

  • 167,617 hits

Important

If you see your image, link, name, etc. on this blog and don't want it here, please contact us and it will be removed immediately.

