I Can See Myself Becoming a Better Speaker

January 13, 2011 at 11:06 pm 4 comments

Before I took this class everyone warned me to prepare all kinds of speeches and write a lot of papers, but after just spending a couple of days in the class I find that it comes natural to talk about talking. I’ve definitely developed more of an interest to this class now compared to my interest at the beginning of the course.

I’ve never really been a good public speaker and confidence is something I and probably others lack when speaking in public. By just reading the first 3 chapters I can see myself becoming more and more of a better speaker. The things that make a public speaker a good speaker are the things that come natural. Such as, hand gestures, eye contact, and telling stories. What I’ve also learned is how important it is to take and organize what you listen to. There’s certain ways to distinguish what’s important and what’s not. You must also let the speaker know you’re listening. Not only does that make it easier for you to actually listen, but it lets the speaker know they actually have a reason to speak.

After realizing these things, I’ve learned that this class is going to be important than I thought and I will definitely benefit from it.

 

Shaylin.

Entry filed under: Experience & public speaking, Listening, public speaking, Reflecting on Experience, Uncategorized.

Speech A Doorway To Opportunities Delivery Is Key

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Leeza Rickey  |  January 23, 2011 at 1:40 pm

    I also feel that I will benefit from this class because i already feel as if it has helped me out and i havent even given my speech yet. I also have more confidence about giving speeches and about the whole class.

    Reply
  • 2. colecj  |  January 23, 2011 at 6:45 pm

    When i first entered the class i had several people tell me i would hate speech because of the paper writing and horrible speeches we’d have to give too. However the atmosphere of the class along with the helpful instructions of the book have actually made it quite enjoyable as well as beneficial.

    Reply
  • 3. chal6347  |  January 23, 2011 at 8:12 pm

    Great Post Shaylin! I think we honestly are all going to gain something from this class this quarter. I have always been relatively comfy in front of people, but I know I have a lot to learn and can only get better from here on too. 🙂 I’m confident you will do a lot better than you assume because you’re a good people person. And like I said, you can only get better in the long run.
    Carrie Chalker

    Reply
  • 4. afreeland2011  |  March 16, 2011 at 10:25 pm

    Shaylin, great job. I also wanted to let you know that you’re a good basketball player! I’m sorry about your uncle : ( – but, I definately try to make people like him feel wanted and important. Good luck on all you do! I’ll see you when we play against you guys – if I’m not benched haha

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Student Blog

This blog is the collective work of students enrolled in the Fundamentals of Effective Speech Class at Southern State Community College South Campus. We invite you to add your voice to the conversation. Just click the "add comment' button to share your ideas and suggestions.

Blog Stats

  • 165,228 hits

Important

If you see your image, link, name, etc. on this blog and don't want it here, please contact us and it will be removed immediately.

