Delivery Is Key

January 14, 2011 at 8:48 am 4 comments

Chapter twelve in The Art of Public Speaking had a lot of important and useful tips in it. It explains how important the delivery of our speech is. After reading this chapter I feel I have gained more insight on what to do when I’m speaking as well as what I shouldn’t do. On page 246 you can find the phrase “no matter how nervous you are inside, do your best to look calm and assured on the outside.” From this phrase I gain the understanding that how you appear to your audience matters a great deal. If you stand up and nervous is written all over your face the audience will sense it. You will feel them judge you and you will most likely become more nervous.

Giving a speech should be like a causal conversation. Don’t preach to your audience, talk to them. This is very important because your audience will be more open to your ideas if you causally talk to them. People don’t react well when speakers try to force ideas on them.

As mentioned in the book “Winston Churchill suffered from a slight lisp and an awkward stammer.” This statement stood out to me because I do have trouble pronouncing certain words. I also catch myself stuttering when I don’t stay focused and make myself speak clearly. Knowing that someone as famous as Churchill had a problem with speaking gives me a little more confidence. And if, or should I say when i stubble over a word during my speech I can think of this phrase and continue on confidently.

Tips such as looking at the students in the audience who are sitting farthest away from me at the beginning of my speech to make sure they can hear me were very useful. They will help me to control my volume so I’m not seemingly yelling or whispering. Many other tips that I read  in the chapter will help too.

Destini

Entry filed under: public speaking, Public Speaking Delivery, Public Speaking Tips, Reflecting on Experience, Uncategorized.

I Can See Myself Becoming a Better Speaker Four Speeches, Good Friends and My Voice

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. ally  |  January 19, 2011 at 7:03 pm

    Making a speech like a conversation is definitely going to help me out a lot. That’s one of the things I learned that I found really important to help me get over being nervous.

    Reply
  • 2. Leeza Rickey  |  January 23, 2011 at 1:32 pm

    I am glad you pointed out that people tend to stutter because I am the same way. It shows that not everyone is perfect and that they will mess up and you can’t judge people by their mistakes.

    Reply
  • 3. drewd34  |  January 23, 2011 at 10:34 pm

    The Churchill tip I think is a very helpful in saying that you should realize your speech will not be perfect, although everyone wants theirs to be. There are countless mistakes made by the most famous of speakers, and they have been doing it all their life. So you should not worry about ONE mistake you make in one of your first speeches.

    Reply
  • 4. wigg2  |  January 31, 2011 at 8:56 am

    I agree with ally and Leeza. That knowing a speech can be like like a conversation will help me out alot. And knowing that people stutter when their nervous makes me feel less nervous.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Student Blog

This blog is the collective work of students enrolled in the Fundamentals of Effective Speech Class at Southern State Community College South Campus. We invite you to add your voice to the conversation. Just click the "add comment' button to share your ideas and suggestions.

Blog Stats

  • 168,919 hits

Important

If you see your image, link, name, etc. on this blog and don't want it here, please contact us and it will be removed immediately.

