Public Speaking

January 19, 2011 at 12:06 pm 4 comments

This is my first speech class and I’m not going to lie, I was pretty nervous going in to it. I always heard that I was going to have to speak a lot and it was pretty intense. After the first of class I knew I would love the students with me and I knew I wouldn’t have to worry about what was going to be said while I was giving a speech.

I also realized that I really want to get involved in a lot more and voice my opinion when it’s necessary. I have always wanted to go into the Physical Therapy field ever since about ninth grade but after being involved in this class and another arts class I am having doubts about it. I really like the idea of standing up for what I believe in and making a change. I would like to consider changing my major to something related to speech. Voicing my opinion has always been something on instinct because I’ve been known for speaking my mind, and I don’t care who’s listening. This class is just showing me when it’s appropriate and when to hold it in or express my feelings in a different manner!

Speaking before, in front of a large crowd, used to be my biggest nightmare but today I got in front of my class in arts class and only had a few nerves. it was not a huge speech but just presenting something that meant something to me and I figured I would be scared to death but it really wasn’t that bad! These classes are going to help me overcome many obstacles and help me in my future. I’m looking forward to the remainder of this class and hopefully taking more in the future. I’m very glad I took this class it will defiantly be one I will never forget!

Ashley P.

Entry filed under: Finding Your Voice, Listening, Meaning, My Voice, public speaking, Public Speaking Tips, Reflecting on Experience, Uncategorized.

Can We Find Dignity in Ourselves? My First Speech Class

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kendra  |  January 19, 2011 at 3:55 pm

    Ashley, I think it’s great that you’re not afraid to speak your mind about things. And I hope that this class helps you further develop the skills needed for communicating them. Best of luck in class! 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. Lacey :D  |  January 25, 2011 at 12:15 pm

    Ashley I love how you are able to express yourself through your voice. In this post you showed a great way of using your fear to the best advantage you had Great Job !

    Reply
  • 3. afreeland2011  |  January 25, 2011 at 12:51 pm

    Why thank you! I am not afraid to tell anyone how I feel, and I’m glad you noticed it. What you read was very good. The words that were in it seemed very difficult, but you spoke them as if you spoke like that yourself. I’d wish you good luck, but you won’t need it! You do great.

    Reply
  • 4. tadl9382  |  January 30, 2011 at 10:33 pm

    You’re overcoming your fears by being in this class! That’s awesome Ashley!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Student Blog

This blog is the collective work of students enrolled in the Fundamentals of Effective Speech Class at Southern State Community College South Campus. We invite you to add your voice to the conversation. Just click the "add comment' button to share your ideas and suggestions.

Blog Stats

  • 164,535 hits

Important

If you see your image, link, name, etc. on this blog and don't want it here, please contact us and it will be removed immediately.

