Public Speaking Out-look

January 19, 2011 at 11:55 am 3 comments

Since speech class has started I have changed my outlook on public speaking. I’m not a very shy person, when it comes to talking in front of people it’s really not a  big deal the only thing I have a problem with is finding the words to say. I learned that if I pick a subject that I am very familiar with and close to. Some people get very nervous during their speech and get tongue-tied. When you’re doing a speech about something you know then it won’t be hard to wing it.  If I choose a subject that I don’t really know much about it will be kinda hard to talk about it and actually find the words to say.

I learned that the best way to deliver a great speech is to be prepared. Create an outline that you will be delivering it in. Note cards are a great way to keep yourself in line during the actual speech. Don’t read word for word off of a sheet of paper the words will flow better if you know what you’re talking about and are prepared. 

The posters we have made in class have been a great help to me. In one of our posters we illustrated “dont’ plagiarise.” If you are taking the words of someone else that is the sole definition of plagiarism. If you do use someone elses words in your speech make sure you quote him or her.

I believe that Public Speaking will be a good class for me and will give me an inspiration and skills for my future; and if not then hopefully it’ll be fun enough to make some memories!!

 

Booker

Entry filed under: public speaking, Public Speaking Tips, Uncategorized.

Morning Perk Can We Find Dignity in Ourselves?

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. brittanycarroll  |  January 21, 2011 at 7:32 pm

    I agree plagiarism is a proplem. Always make sure the right person gets the credit they deserve.

    Reply
  • 2. Trish  |  February 16, 2011 at 11:21 am

    I just have to act as a class cheer leader! I get sooo much amusement from everyone’s personality issues. Hehe 🙂 I get a true kick out of your silly nature, and look forward to the fun based themes that I’m sure will be the basis for your future speeches. 🙂

    Reply
  • 3. trishhall  |  March 21, 2011 at 2:31 pm

    You need more blogs to comment on! Anywhoooo…… I wanted to say how glad I am to have been a part of your class. You were silly and sweet, and everyday you brought a smile to class with you. I think you were nervous about much of what went on in front of the class, but you pulled through each obstacle like a trooper. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Student Blog

This blog is the collective work of students enrolled in the Fundamentals of Effective Speech Class at Southern State Community College South Campus. We invite you to add your voice to the conversation. Just click the "add comment' button to share your ideas and suggestions.

Blog Stats

  • 169,079 hits

Important

If you see your image, link, name, etc. on this blog and don't want it here, please contact us and it will be removed immediately.

