I Think I Actually Enjoy Reading this Textbook!!

January 22, 2011 at 8:41 pm Leave a comment

Chapter 12 offers many useful tips on delivering a speech well.  I found this chapter very informative and enlightening, particularly when explaining the methods of delivering a speech and the characteristics of one’s voice.  I also found the section about body language to be very helpful because I feel I have problems with over-gesturing and not making proper eye contact.

This chapter has opened my eyes to many helpful ideas and practices concerning public speaking.  Understanding the 4 methods of delivery helps by teaching me about the various ways I can deliver my speeches.  I found the section entitled “The Speaker’s Voice” to be very informative and interesting overall, while the section entitled “The Speaker’s Body” was not only informative and interesting but rather eye-opening to certain things I should pay more attention to while speaking.

I think I actually enjoy reading this textbook.  To me it does not seem like a textbook but rather like a self-help book.  Perhaps that is because I need so much help with this subject and find it so challenging that I focus more on what I read and absorb it better.  Then again, the book just may be written well and offer great tips and ideas on how to give a good speech.   I think it may be both.

 

Crystal

Entry filed under: public speaking, Public Speaking Delivery, Uncategorized.

Practicing Delivery First Speech Coming Up…

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Student Blog

This blog is the collective work of students enrolled in the Fundamentals of Effective Speech Class at Southern State Community College South Campus. We invite you to add your voice to the conversation. Just click the "add comment' button to share your ideas and suggestions.

Blog Stats

  • 164,581 hits

Important

If you see your image, link, name, etc. on this blog and don't want it here, please contact us and it will be removed immediately.

