Giving My First Speech

January 23, 2011 at 10:54 pm 6 comments

So.. My first speech is tomorrow. I’m ready for it, I think. I had a hard time deciding whether I wanted to read a story from my childhood, a funny story, or a story that had a good meaning to it and in a way shows what kind of person I am. I ended up choosing a short story that has a good message, and is something that is important to me. I’ve read it over and over and practiced what I’m going to say and how I’m going to say it. I’ve even practiced in front of a mirror. I do great when it’s just me looking at myself in the mirror, but I’m worried that when I’m in front of the class I’ll get tongue-tied. That happens to me a lot. Or maybe I won’t pause enough, or I’ll talk too fast. I tend to talk fast when I’m nervous.

I’m putting all those negative thoughts aside though and I’m not thinking about any negative thing that could happen. I mean, I’m sure everyone in the class will be somewhat nervous about their first speech. Also, I remember learning that nervousness does not show on the outside, so everyone listening to me will probably think I’m doing fine, even if I am a little nervous. I’m trying to be positive about giving my first speech, and for the most part I’m excited about it. I feel like it won’t be too bad since I’m just reading a story, and it should be easy for me to talk about it since the meaning of the story is important to me. It’s something that I could have a conversation with someone about, so I’m going to try to give my speech that way. I have also pictured myself giving my speech to the class and doing great. After learning that helpful hint in speech class and trying it, I really do feel like it helped boost my confidence.

I’m trying to take everything I have learned and using that when preparing and giving my speech. I feel like I’m going to do good tomorrow, after everything I have learned already. This class really has helped me out a lot. So, I’ve decided that I don’t just think I’m ready for my first speech, I know I’m ready for it. Everyone in the class will do great I’m sure. I’m going to class tomorrow with a positive attitude!

Ally

Entry filed under: Public Reading, public speaking, Public Speaking Tips, Reflecting on Experience, Uncategorized.

Speech #1.. done, but okay? About reading speeches Choose a topic that has meaning to you.

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kate  |  January 24, 2011 at 12:08 am

    I think that this post potrayed what a lot of kids might be feeling when giving their speech tomorrow, a little nervous but kind of excited about actually getting to do it. So this post helped me in a way that now I can think that everybody is probably going to feel the same way when giving their speech but to just calm down and I should do fine!

    Reply
    • 2. ally  |  January 25, 2011 at 11:13 pm

      i’m glad it helped! and you did great!

      Reply
  • 3. wigg2  |  January 24, 2011 at 11:45 am

    wish I would have read this post last night! I was pretty nervous giving my speech today. By the way good job with your speech!

    Reply
    • 4. ally  |  January 25, 2011 at 11:14 pm

      thanks! you did good too!

      Reply
  • 5. Lindsay  |  January 24, 2011 at 6:50 pm

    Your speech today was very nice. It had a good meaning that you were trying to get through to the audience and I think you accomplished that. I think negative thoughts too and was also nervous about my speech so you are not alone. Nice Job!

    Reply
  • 6. ally  |  January 25, 2011 at 11:15 pm

    well thanks lindsay! you did really good too!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Student Blog

This blog is the collective work of students enrolled in the Fundamentals of Effective Speech Class at Southern State Community College South Campus. We invite you to add your voice to the conversation. Just click the "add comment' button to share your ideas and suggestions.

Blog Stats

  • 164,473 hits

Important

If you see your image, link, name, etc. on this blog and don't want it here, please contact us and it will be removed immediately.

