Reading To Fit My Personality

January 23, 2011 at 9:01 pm 4 comments

In deciding what I should read for our first presentation in front of the class I had several different thoughts on what I should choose. I thought that maybe I would just read something that I read before a crowd in the past, or maybe something that I had just read several times and I was very familiar with. Both of these are very helpful considerations when deciding on a topic however the key thing it seems to me would be to read something which fit me.

When I talk about something that fits me I refer to a reading that fits my personality. The people that I have known me for a while know that I am a light-hearted easy-going kind of person who loves to have fun and make people laugh. So for me to come in with a serious piece, such as a serious poem or a bible passage would just be odd. So taking these things into consideration I thought about what fit a funny non caring and sometimes childish personality; a children’s book of course! This was not the end of the dilemma though. I had to narrow down this broad topic of children’s books, according to length, content, and how well I think I can present the book to the audience. So far I cannot give an exact title but my thoughts are on something by Dr. Seuss. these books bring a smile to ones face and I am very familiar with them so I think using all these factors has helped me to make a good decision for my reading.

 

Clayton

Entry filed under: Finding Your Voice, Public Reading, public speaking, Public Speaking Tips, Uncategorized.

Thinking of a topic very close to me. Speech #1.. done, but okay? About reading speeches

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. alexbilyeu  |  January 24, 2011 at 12:19 am

    I agree with your blog very much. I believe It is so much easier to read something that you can relate to or something that “fits your personality.” Great Job!

    Reply
  • 2. Alisha  |  January 24, 2011 at 11:50 am

    I also strongly believe that if you don’t enjoy something your reading and it doesn’t fit your personality. It will not come off as you know what you’re talking about and have faith in it.

    Reply
  • 3. evan64731  |  January 26, 2011 at 1:17 am

    I also agree that you should speak about something that you show intrest in because it just makes your speach go a lot easier. If you don’t believe what you are speaking about then it will be hard to sell your point to the audience.

    Reply
  • 4. Trish  |  January 26, 2011 at 10:49 am

    Your reading truly gave me a smile. As a mother, there are sooooo many instances where Dr. Suess have come to play in our lives. My little boy (he’s 6) entered his first grade at a mid level second grade reading level. I have a point, I promise :). From the time he was born I’ve read to him, and begining around his fifth year, he wanted to start reading mommy the same bedtime stories I’d read him. At five years of age, my son sat me down and read to me the Green Eggs and Ham book. I recorded it on my phone. Point being……people are adament about your intelligence, and you bringing in “The Foot Book” gave me a true sense of joy and pride to think maybe, just maybe, one day, my little boy will be an accomplished young man and remember his Dr. Suess book collection. Thank you for that. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Student Blog

This blog is the collective work of students enrolled in the Fundamentals of Effective Speech Class at Southern State Community College South Campus. We invite you to add your voice to the conversation. Just click the "add comment' button to share your ideas and suggestions.

Blog Stats

  • 166,657 hits

Important

If you see your image, link, name, etc. on this blog and don't want it here, please contact us and it will be removed immediately.

