Choose a topic that has meaning to you.

January 24, 2011 at 8:07 am 1 comment

In speech class we were given the assignment of reading something in front of the class for 3 to 6 minutes. It could be anything from poetry to a book. At first I had no idea what would be best to read for my first speech. Picking a topic is a very important part of speech class. Make sure to choose a topic that you can relate to so you know what you are talking about. Another important thing is to make certain you are prepared to give a speech or read because no one wants to give or hear a bad speech. Different ways I have found that are useful in preparing myself for a speech is to practice reading the material over and over again. I also think helpful practice is to rehearse your speech in front of friends and family just to get use to reading in front of people.

When thinking of what I would want to read in front of the class I knew that I wanted to pick something that would be fun to read but also simple. Something I could relate to, and something I have read numerous times. The book that I picked out is a children’s book, in fact, one of my own from when I was young. The book is Green Eggs and Ham by Dr. Seuss. This I thought would be perfect. I use to read Green Eggs and Ham so much that I was almost to the point of memorizing the book. So I know this book is something I can relate to and it will be fun and simple to read.

Alex

 

Entry filed under: Public Reading, public speaking, Public Speaking Delivery, Public Speaking Tips, Uncategorized.

Giving My First Speech Oh, the Places You’ll Go!

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. natasha  |  January 25, 2011 at 11:09 pm

    Alex,
    I’m glad you chose something to read that had some personal value to it. The fact that you almost memorized it won’t hurt your speech any either! And I agree with you on the practicing thing. I’ve read my book out loud multiple times so that I’ll be ready. Hopefully tomorrow we both gives great speeches!
    Natasha

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Student Blog

This blog is the collective work of students enrolled in the Fundamentals of Effective Speech Class at Southern State Community College South Campus. We invite you to add your voice to the conversation. Just click the "add comment' button to share your ideas and suggestions.

Blog Stats

  • 169,063 hits

Important

If you see your image, link, name, etc. on this blog and don't want it here, please contact us and it will be removed immediately.

