Helpful Hints

January 24, 2011 at 12:21 pm 3 comments

“This is why, in most companies, effective listeners hold higher positions and are promoted more often than ineffective listeners.” -Pg. 48 Listening is Important
The first phrase I found about listening was the one that appealed to me the most of the three. I always try you listen to people who are talking to me, but I think we are all guilty of zoning out after so long. This phrase shows that being an effective listener and help you succeed more in your career.
“Every speech contains two messages  – the one sent by the speaker and the one received by the listener…as a result we listen and respond to speeches not as they are, but as we are.” -Pg. 98 the Psychology of Audiences
The phrase about audience s stages that the speech will have two messages. Everyone gets the attitude of only hearing what we want to hear, selective hearing as some say. This phrase shows that what you say will affect the people in your audience differently then it will affect you. It tells me I should pay closer attention to what I’m saying so that I don’t offend anyone or hurt someone’s feelings. Although, neither can be completely avoided.
“Don’t think of yourself as having stage fright. Instead, think of it as ‘stage excitement’ or ‘stage enthusiasm.” -Pg. 10 Dealing with Nervousness
I’m not really nervous about standing in front of people and speaking. I’ve been in a lot of church plays and I’ve given speeches before so being in front of people is nothing new. However, I know when it comes to that day when I have to stand up and deliver my speech I’ll be nervous. This phrase will help me deal with it.

***The Art of Public Speaking, 10th ed, Stephen E. Lucas

-Destini

Entry filed under: public speaking, Public Speaking Tips, Uncategorized.

Oh, the Places You’ll Go! First Speech Went Well

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. alainaholbrook  |  January 25, 2011 at 5:55 pm

    I found all of these tips very helpful as well!!! lol

    Reply
  • 2. andr6295  |  February 6, 2011 at 7:23 pm

    Those are all great things to remember for this class.

    Reply
  • 3. ally  |  February 14, 2011 at 1:28 am

    these tips are going to help me out for my speech tomorrow.. because i am kinda nervous about it! i can’t read from a book like the first time. i just have to talk with nothing to read off of other than notecards with little topics written on it.
    see ya tomorrow!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Student Blog

This blog is the collective work of students enrolled in the Fundamentals of Effective Speech Class at Southern State Community College South Campus. We invite you to add your voice to the conversation. Just click the "add comment' button to share your ideas and suggestions.

Blog Stats

  • 164,473 hits

Important

If you see your image, link, name, etc. on this blog and don't want it here, please contact us and it will be removed immediately.

