Oh, the Places You’ll Go!

January 24, 2011 at 12:14 pm 5 comments

See full size image

Today, in speech class we read from a book of our choosing. I chose to read Oh, the places you’ll go! by DR. Seuss. I received my instructor’s observation paper, and got her feed back. One of the questions on this sheet is “What message came through?” My instructor drew a wiggled line across the paper to illustrate what our future looks like based on my reading. I am glad that she felt like this because this is how I felt when I read this book. Another question on this sheet is ” What was your experience as a listener? What were you thinking or feeling? Begin with I thought about. I wondered. I asked myself. I remembered.” My instructor wrote she needed to hear this story and probably many in the class needed to hear ,it too. She also wrote that I had good volume. I was very worried about my volume because I’m a quiet person so I was very surprised that she wrote this. And she also wrote that I needed to make more eye contact which is what everyone said, but I think if I would have looked at the audience I would have choked up.

Each of us have to fill out a form on how we thought we did. Here’s mine:

Three things I liked about this presentation:

1. I need to make more eye contact.

2. Maybe I should have shown a visual or something.

3. I liked how I didn’t stumble over many words.

Something that could be improved:

I definitely need to make more eye contact, more dramatic pauses and pictures.

Something new I learned:

Everyone that gave me an evaluation paper wrote down more eye contact. So I guess I will have to work on that. Also, I learned that people want to see pictures so I’ll try showing pictures.

A lot of people liked the way I was loud and clear.  I didn’t think I was a very loud person, but I guess I am!

Casie

Entry filed under: Public Reading, public speaking, Public Speaking Delivery, Public Speaking Evaluation, Public Speaking Tips, Reflecting on Experience, Uncategorized.

Choose a topic that has meaning to you. Helpful Hints

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. destini12  |  January 24, 2011 at 1:17 pm

    Casie,
    You did an excellent job reading today. That book is great! Our futures are unpredictable and it’s sometimes scary to think about. Before you read the book you said it seemed appropriate because we are about to graduate and go out into the real world. I totally agree, our lives are about to change. Oh, The Places You’ll Go has some very inspiring points in it. “Kid, you’ll move mountains!”
    -Destini

    Reply
  • 2. natasha  |  January 25, 2011 at 10:52 pm

    Casie,
    I think you did a really good job with our first speech! The practicing you did with your boyfriend and his little cousin must have paid off, because you didn’t seem nervous at all. I really liked your choice in what to read. I had never actually read that Dr. Seus book before, so that was new for me. But besides that, I think the books meaning really worked with our class because many of us are going to graduate later this year. All in all, keep it up girl!
    Natasha

    Reply
  • 3. nicholeerrington  |  January 26, 2011 at 10:46 am

    great job on your reading! i also got the book as a graduation present. it ment a lot to me. its funny hoe lids books mean so much to us as we get older. I liked your introduction because i remember feeling the same way, kinda unsure about how everything will go but like it says you will move mountains 🙂
    Great job!

    Reply
  • 4. reganelizabeth11  |  January 26, 2011 at 11:18 am

    Casie, you did a great job with your speech! Like Natasha said, I had never read the book either, I’ve just heard about it. I think it was an excellent choice and you did really good!
    Regan

    Reply
  • 5. wigg2  |  January 31, 2011 at 8:53 am

    thanks everyone

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Student Blog

This blog is the collective work of students enrolled in the Fundamentals of Effective Speech Class at Southern State Community College South Campus. We invite you to add your voice to the conversation. Just click the "add comment' button to share your ideas and suggestions.

Blog Stats

  • 169,063 hits

Important

If you see your image, link, name, etc. on this blog and don't want it here, please contact us and it will be removed immediately.

