First Speech Went Well

January 25, 2011 at 8:16 am 4 comments

Well, last week I gave my first speech that I absolutely dreaded. It went very well and I was pleased with how I did. I picked two of my favorite poems to read -“Sick” and “Sarah Cynthia Sylvia Stout Would Not Take the Garbage Out” written by Shel Silverstein. I have loved Silverstein ever since I was young. When I first picked them I was afraid what people might think or how they would judge me but these two poems are meaningful to me and represent the type of person that I really am so I went ahead and stuck to my choice. It turns out that everyone thought I did a pretty good job.

I received a lot of positive feedback from my fellow classmates. My feedback consisted mostly of great eye contact, nice tone and volume, great choice of reading, my facial expressions were positive, and that I was humorous. There were a lot of things that I was worried about like making eye contact and speaking loud and clear but I made it a point to make sure that I did those things and I succeeded at that. Of course no speech is perfect and one of the things that I need to work on or improve is pausing when necessary and to have more enthusiasm. This is what I hope that I can bring with me when I give my next speech and hopefully improve on. I was really surprised when I was reading.  I felt less nervous as I kept going and I was really happy about that. I was also given feedback that I should not be nervous and that will certainly help me through my next speech. I am very proud of myself and how I delivered my very first speech and look forward to improving on the rest of my speeches that I will be giving soon.

Lindsay

Entry filed under: Experience & public speaking, My Voice, Public Reading, public speaking, Public Speaking Delivery, Reflecting on Experience, Uncategorized.

Helpful Hints The Reading

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kendra  |  January 25, 2011 at 11:04 am

    Yes, I thought you did a very nice job, Lindsay! The Shel Silverstein poems were cute. 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. Kendra  |  January 25, 2011 at 11:04 am

    Wow…that smiley face looks creepy…

    Reply
  • 3. afreeland2011  |  January 25, 2011 at 12:48 pm

    You did do a great job, Lindsay! You spoke very clearly, loud, and delievered it well. I just figured out how to comment someone. (that’s sad, huh.) Well, don’t be nervous. You done very well. : )

    Reply
  • 4. alainaholbrook  |  January 25, 2011 at 5:51 pm

    I really like those poems too. They were a good choice for your first reading, it kept everyone interested in what you had to say. I really enjoy those kinds of poems too.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Student Blog

This blog is the collective work of students enrolled in the Fundamentals of Effective Speech Class at Southern State Community College South Campus. We invite you to add your voice to the conversation. Just click the "add comment' button to share your ideas and suggestions.

Blog Stats

  • 167,674 hits

Important

If you see your image, link, name, etc. on this blog and don't want it here, please contact us and it will be removed immediately.

