Improvements need made

January 25, 2011 at 7:13 pm 4 comments

Wow, so I gave my first speech. Even though it was only a reading, I still was a little nervous. I know before this class I was never nervous to get up in front of the class to talk about anything. But I also remember not being graded on eye contact, body language, etc. When I’m under pressure I get very nervous.

Doing a speech, for me, is like taking a mid-term that I know I studied for, but afraid I’ll lose self-confidence. For my speech, I read a George Strait song called, “Father’s Love,” or also known as “A Love without End Amen.” Those of you who know me have always known that my father and I have always been very close, though, we have had our fights.

Ever since I can remember I was always by my dad’s side. There will be men that remember me from being by my dad’s side. The song I read just comes so natural to me that while I was up there speaking, I ended up half-way singing it. I felt very embarrassed. But once I received the comments from other students, some liked it, others didn’t. I honestly didn’t even mean to, but you can’t change it now. I was so nervous about being up there, and being graded for it that I failed to make good eye-contact. I never had problems with that before. I also know that in the past most of the times I stood up to speak, I winged all of it and tried to make the class laugh. I just wanted to let everyone know that has went so far, you’ve all done wonderful jobs! Those of you going tomorrow will be great too! Just be confident, smile, make good  eye-contact, and don’t sing! ; ) Thank you everyone for helping me improve on my speaking!

Ashley Freeland

Entry filed under: Public Reading, public speaking, Public Speaking Delivery, Public Speaking Evaluation, Reflecting on Experience, Uncategorized.

The Reading Pace Yourself

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. reganelizabeth11  |  January 26, 2011 at 11:13 am

    Ashley, I thought the singing part was actually good! It added to your speech! Good job!

    Reply
  • 2. ally  |  February 14, 2011 at 1:33 am

    ashley i liked your informative speech! it was really touching because i foung out that wolves brought back memories from your papaw.. and i was also very close with my papaw. you did a nice job! now i gotta give mine.. i’m a little nervous. haha. see ya tomorrow!

    Reply
  • 3. afreeland2011  |  March 15, 2011 at 11:57 pm

    thank you, ally! I appreciate it! : )

    Reply
  • 4. afreeland2011  |  March 16, 2011 at 10:16 pm

    I am replying to comments made a month ago. I apologize. I am slowly figuring this out! Regan, the singing was an accident! I was so embarrassed from doing that. It came so natural that I didn’t even realize it. Thank you so much – I will miss you in class (all of you) and Regan, I’ll see you at work!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Student Blog

This blog is the collective work of students enrolled in the Fundamentals of Effective Speech Class at Southern State Community College South Campus. We invite you to add your voice to the conversation. Just click the "add comment' button to share your ideas and suggestions.

Blog Stats

  • 165,746 hits

Important

If you see your image, link, name, etc. on this blog and don't want it here, please contact us and it will be removed immediately.

