The Reading

January 25, 2011 at 1:38 pm 2 comments

Overall, I was very pleased with how my first speech went.  First of all, I am very glad that I decided to read from the Book of Isaiah.  I think that sometimes, as a speaker, you are challenged with the question of whether you should share something very personal or not.  I am a very private person when it comes to things that I hold very dear to my heart.  It takes a lot for me to really put myself out there in the open like that; but, ultimately, I know that that is what I am called to do as a follower of Christ.  I received very positive feedback and was thanked by several people for having the courage to share my faith.  I have learned that you should always go with what your heart is telling you to say when it comes to picking a topic for anything; whether it is a speech, a paper, or any other form of artwork.  The best speeches are the ones that come from strong conviction.

For the most part, I was told that I did a fairly good job at making eye contact and showing emotion.  I was pleased with this feedback because I practiced a lot at home with making eye contact and putting real emotion into the reading.  For my next speech, however, I feel that I could work on more precisely placing my emphasis on certain things.  A good speaker should really pick apart all of the words in the speech and determine which parts, specifically, need to be heightened for attention.  I have trouble with this at times, as I am more of a big picture person than I am a small details person.  I would also like to add that I was very impressed by all of the thought and energy that my fellow classmates put into their readings.  I have a feeling that things will only get better from here.

Kendra


Entry filed under: Public Reading, public speaking, Reflecting on Experience, Uncategorized.

First Speech Went Well Improvements need made

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. alainaholbrook  |  January 25, 2011 at 5:54 pm

    I thought you did a great job reading from the Bible. I really enjoyed the passage that you read. I heard the very same one in church the day before… lol ironic.

    Reply
  • 2. wavewithgod209  |  January 28, 2011 at 1:06 pm

    kendra i think God shows himself when you read. because in all the years that i have been a jesus follower that no matter how you love God and the bilbe you have show it through your actions and your voice. And when you read that passage you showed so much actions and love. while doing a reading a speech. you did amazing.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Student Blog

This blog is the collective work of students enrolled in the Fundamentals of Effective Speech Class at Southern State Community College South Campus. We invite you to add your voice to the conversation. Just click the "add comment' button to share your ideas and suggestions.

Blog Stats

  • 168,919 hits

Important

If you see your image, link, name, etc. on this blog and don't want it here, please contact us and it will be removed immediately.

