A new outlook

January 26, 2011 at 11:40 am 3 comments

My first speech went better than I anticipated. My speech was the song lyrics to behind blue eyes which was the song played at my friends funeral. You guys gave me good reviews and I am greatly thankful to you all for being so nice. One of you wrote that I should have had a picture of my friend but I unfortunately don’t have one. Its feels good to have the speech done, now I don’t feel so nervous about getting up in front of you guys. To be honest I was worried about how you all would perceive me. So far I feel that everyone is good-hearted people and I like that we are all so different because we can learn so much about one another.

From my understanding most of you are still in high school and found it to be a nice complement that a lot of you were shocked that I am 26 but mostly that I am a mother. I was at first thinking about dropping the class after I heard how much we was going to have to communicate with each other only cause I am very, very shy. Now I am glad I choose to stay . Our teacher Candee is awesome! She has such an out going personality that I find incredible refreshing. Well I don’t have much more to say but once again thank you and I am looking forward to our next class.

Brittany

Entry filed under: Experience & public speaking, Public Reading, public speaking, Reflecting on Experience, Uncategorized.

Fear of public speaking I Borrowed the cookie from the ‘Cookie Jar’

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. nicholeerrington  |  January 26, 2011 at 3:19 pm

    I think that you did an excelent job. I know how hard it is to loose a friend and I would not have been able to read something with that kind of meaning without crying. I commend you for choosing something so close to your heart.
    the book I choose, Green eggs and ham, as close to me becasue my mammaw read it to me when i was a little girl and now i have lost both my mammaw and pappaw 😦 I know how you felt when you read the lyrics to that song. I just tried to make mone positive. thats why i didnt tell the class that I had lost them, I would have been sad and it would not have went so well.

    Reply
  • 2. wavewithgod209  |  January 28, 2011 at 12:55 pm

    dear brittany i think you are in so much pain by the way you were reading your speech. And im so sorry that you lost someone that close to you. but i did realize that when you opened up there was a stregth in you that came out through your voice. i dont think you did bad at all. in fact i think you were one of the best. because you showed so much emotion in every littel word you said and if you ever want to talk my number is 937-892-0852 , you can call any time of the day

    Reply
  • 3. shaylinmcdaniels  |  March 19, 2011 at 7:31 pm

    I think you did a really good job with your speeches, I’m glad you didn’t drop the class because I was glad to hear some of your speeches and some of the things you had to say. You couldn’t tell at all that you were nervous, and you were very comfortable with talking to us and in front of a crowd 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Student Blog

This blog is the collective work of students enrolled in the Fundamentals of Effective Speech Class at Southern State Community College South Campus. We invite you to add your voice to the conversation. Just click the "add comment' button to share your ideas and suggestions.

Blog Stats

  • 169,079 hits

Important

If you see your image, link, name, etc. on this blog and don't want it here, please contact us and it will be removed immediately.

