I Borrowed the cookie from the ‘Cookie Jar’

January 26, 2011 at 3:08 pm 2 comments

The fundamental madness has begun! 🙂 Our reading was due starting last week and it has been a steady flow of amusement since. I chose a piece of lyrical writing by musician Jack Johnson. His off beat music and quirk keeps me smiling, although his message in this particular song is quite stern. I enjoy the aspect of making people think and think on a deeper level. I’m no Yoda by any means, but I am a single mommy and responsibility on a whole has forever more loomed over my head. I take life with a grain of salt, while trying to juggle the reality of a job, school, bills, and most importantly my son. This song speaks to me because there is such an enormity of excuses in life as to conditions or reactive behavior. It’s okay to make mistakes, and stumble or struggle, and when those inevitably happen, I believe in assessing what I personally could’ve done differently. Blaming others for an inward inability, to me, seems biased. I’ve always heard ‘the definition of insanity is doing the same process over and over but expecting a different result’. That is my ‘bigger-picture’ thought here. Stand up for your choices, whether good or bad, and believe that every opportunity in life is a learning experience.

Standing up and doing my reading was actually very nice. I was nervous as anyone would be, but I feel it went well. In hindsight, a better introduction would have made it more memorable. Alas, to err (pronounced err, hehe) is human and the ability to adapt is beautiful:)

Trish

Entry filed under: Creativity, Meaning, My Voice, Public Reading, public speaking, Reflecting on Experience, Uncategorized.

A new outlook Goodnight Little Bear

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. palm6753  |  February 1, 2011 at 12:31 am

    You did an awesome job giving your speech and I’m looking forward to your others!

    Reply
  • 2. melissa  |  February 2, 2011 at 12:32 am

    Trish, you did a great job as always infront of the class! your bubbly personality really makes the speech! i also loved your song choice 🙂 Great job!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Student Blog

This blog is the collective work of students enrolled in the Fundamentals of Effective Speech Class at Southern State Community College South Campus. We invite you to add your voice to the conversation. Just click the "add comment' button to share your ideas and suggestions.

Blog Stats

  • 164,581 hits

Important

If you see your image, link, name, etc. on this blog and don't want it here, please contact us and it will be removed immediately.

