My First Speech!

January 28, 2011 at 3:08 pm Leave a comment

So I gave my first speech the other day in my speech class, and it was very exciting yet nerve racking at the same time!  As most of you know I read two poems; one I wrote for my sister’s wedding and another that I found on the internet that I thought said a lot about sisters and how important one is to the other.  I know I already told you some things about my sister and me but I thought I would tell you a little bit more.  So my sister is AWESOME!  Yes, she has her flaws but I hardly see them.  She has always been there for me and I have a feeling that she always will be there in the future.

This past year has been difficult for my family and I. My sister was always there to pick me up if I ever got down about something!  I have always looked up to her for advice, a role model, and so much more!  The year I turned a freshman was the year that Beth went away to college, needless to say that was really tough on me.  I went from seeing my sister 24-7 to seeing her maybe once a week.  In years past we would call each other daily, and I would always hit her up on facebook just so I could talk to her some more.  A couple of years later, and a couple of boyfriends later she met her “prince charming.” They had known each other for years but had never really talked until my cousins decided to set them up.  Not but a few months later were they talking about getting married and even then it scared me to death!  So many things were running through my mind when I found out, I never really thought I would see the day that my sister would walk down the aisle!  The big day finally came and it was a very beautiful wedding, however it was all coming to an end for me!  My sister would soon be married to a man and I resented him for taking her away from me.  I am still dealing with the fact that my big sister is married, I just can’t seem to wrap my head around it but I guess that is a lesson I am learning as we speak, that life will go on, things change and people change.  I can’t stop and watch the scenery I have to go along with life and wherever it many take me!

Moving along, now that you know a little bit more of how I feel about my sister and what we have gone through I will tell you how this all ties in with my speech!  When I was trying to decide what I wanted to read I didn’t put very much thought into it!  I just figured I would pick up one of my little cousin’s books and read it.  However the class we had before our first speeches Mrs. Basford explained to us that what we choose to read should mean something to us, it should be something we are interested in!  Then I really started to think about what I wanted to read and I thought about my sister and what she means to me!  So that is how I came to the idea that I would read the poem about my sister and the memories that we have shared!

Now that I finally have my first speech done with and it wasn’t all that bad I did learn a lot!  The feed back I got from the students in my class helped tremendously!  I learned what I could work on and what I did good on!  The comment cards really work good and I think they will help me a lot when I am preparing for my next speech!

In return for everybody listening and reading to what I have to say I would like to say thank you for the comments you all left me and you all did an awesome job with your speeches as well!

Kate

Entry filed under: Listening, My Voice, Public Reading, public speaking, Public Speaking Delivery, Public Speaking Evaluation, Public Speaking Tips, Reflecting on Experience, Uncategorized.

I do not like public speaking, Sam I am Days Made of Now

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Student Blog

This blog is the collective work of students enrolled in the Fundamentals of Effective Speech Class at Southern State Community College South Campus. We invite you to add your voice to the conversation. Just click the "add comment' button to share your ideas and suggestions.

Blog Stats

  • 165,348 hits

Important

If you see your image, link, name, etc. on this blog and don't want it here, please contact us and it will be removed immediately.

