First Speech

January 29, 2011 at 7:26 pm Leave a comment

Before my speech, I was very nervous. Public speaking is something that I have not had a lot of practice doing. I get nervous when I am in front of a crowd. The reason why I got so nervous during my first speech was because I had to look up while I was reading. I was afraid I would lose my place and then mess up. Eye contact was something I struggled with during my speech. Once I started to read I just kept going until I was done. Majority of all the comments I got back said that I needed to use more eye contact. I was not surprised. I hope during my future speeches, I can overcome these fears by  just looking  up and actually talk to the audience.

The article I read to the class was very motivational. It was about choosing the right career. I believe that it was very interesting to the listeners  because it related to them. Having a career is very important and it is something everyone dreams about in their life. It is also another reason why were in college and it is something that we care about.

By doing my first speech, I have learned many different things. The first thing I learned was that I need to use more eye contact. If I could learn to use eye contact I really believe that I won’t be nervous. Talking to the audience is what scares me the most. Although I was nervous, listeners wrote down that I seemed calm and spoke very clear. They also told me that the topic I chose was very interesting.

Sheri L Fite

Entry filed under: Fear & public speaking, Public Reading, public speaking, Public Speaking Delivery, Public Speaking Evaluation, Public Speaking Tips, Uncategorized.

The Husband Store Not In Her Storm

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Student Blog

This blog is the collective work of students enrolled in the Fundamentals of Effective Speech Class at Southern State Community College South Campus. We invite you to add your voice to the conversation. Just click the "add comment' button to share your ideas and suggestions.

Blog Stats

  • 166,657 hits

Important

If you see your image, link, name, etc. on this blog and don't want it here, please contact us and it will be removed immediately.

