Observations on myself

January 29, 2011 at 7:11 pm 2 comments

First, I first would like to say one thing about a suggestion that I did not agree with. Someone suggested I should have picked a book with a good rhythm. It seemed to me we had  several rhyming books  and plus my goal was to teach  the class something new about a different culture. Most importantly it was to teach the class that there is a warrior somewhere deep inside of us no matter what.

Now that’s out-of-the-way I did learn that I need to speed up my speech somewhat, and I also learned that I need to speak more confidently, clearly because I have it in me and a little louder because of the music playing in the background. I want to thank my class for the nice comments about my speech. They really helped make my day because I was having a really crappy day. And just to know that I can come to school and be with my friends ( because I see ALL of you guys as my FRIENDS) and talk publicly and not be judged by it.  I was so glad that you guys love my costume. Actually,it was not a costume but a real wushu(kung-fu) outfit. Based on your comments,  you guys also love how I showed the illustrations and my voice was filled with character. I will be honest.  I was a little nervous at first and as I got closer to the middle of the book I got less nervous.

Paul

Entry filed under: Public Reading, public speaking, Public Speaking Delivery, Public Speaking Evaluation, Public Speaking Tips, Reflecting on Experience, Uncategorized.

?~What I thought of everyone’s speech~? The Husband Store

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Carrie  |  March 9, 2011 at 8:55 pm

    I actually really really liked that speech Paul. It was different than one might expect but it was neat. The story was a good one, and you explained the purpose of it well to the audience. the music made it more sureal I thought, although yes, it might have been better to turn it down a tad so it wouldn’t become a distraction, and the book was lengthy, but I really enjoyed it and found it a nice selection!

    Reply
  • 2. robert  |  March 20, 2011 at 6:23 pm

    I wasnt really into the topic.but your speeches stuck with me when other peoples speeches did not. I geuss it was the way you delivered your speech

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Student Blog

This blog is the collective work of students enrolled in the Fundamentals of Effective Speech Class at Southern State Community College South Campus. We invite you to add your voice to the conversation. Just click the "add comment' button to share your ideas and suggestions.

Blog Stats

  • 166,658 hits

Important

If you see your image, link, name, etc. on this blog and don't want it here, please contact us and it will be removed immediately.

