The Husband Store

January 29, 2011 at 7:15 pm 1 comment

The Husband Store is the title of the little story or poem I read in class. I am glad to say, that we all survived our first speech! Even though I am sure that many of the students were as nervous as I was, everyone participated and did a pretty good job. It was amazing how much the techniques that we are learning influenced how I did my speech. I know that I have a looooong way to go, but I found myself actually thinking that I needed to “slow down,” make eye contact, and try to connect with the audience.” There were, definitely, a few people in the class that helped me-by seeming interested in what I was reading and even smiling a little. Thank you!!!

I do already dread our next speech,  but I feel like this class is a blessing for me. As intimidating as it is to speak in front of others, it is something that I need to be able to do. I would like to be able to “speak out” decently when necessary.

Thank you fellow students for your support, and thank you Candee for your encouragement and patience. You have a way of making everyone feel like what they say really counts.

Melinda

Entry filed under: Public Reading, public speaking, Public Speaking Delivery, Public Speaking Evaluation, Public Speaking Tips, Reflecting on Experience, Uncategorized.

Observations on myself First Speech

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. trish  |  January 31, 2011 at 12:52 pm

    I’m commenting more for myself than any class participation issue. I think you did a wonderful job with your ‘Husband Store’ reading. I personally found it completely adorable and very lighthearted. I think you have a beautiful outlook on all that life offers and just your simple optimism is going to lend itself to self discovery in this class. I compliment you on your pride of your children, and husband. I have a little one who has stolen my heart from the begining. Although his father and I didn’t continue our marraige, I believe in the power of positive thinking. Your ‘Husband Store’ made me self reflect a li’l on the things I hope to someday find in a new person with which I can share happiness from my son and myself. Thank you 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Student Blog

This blog is the collective work of students enrolled in the Fundamentals of Effective Speech Class at Southern State Community College South Campus. We invite you to add your voice to the conversation. Just click the "add comment' button to share your ideas and suggestions.

Blog Stats

  • 167,529 hits

Important

If you see your image, link, name, etc. on this blog and don't want it here, please contact us and it will be removed immediately.

