The Holocaust Reading

January 31, 2011 at 11:05 am 1 comment

I did my first reading the other day and surprisingly, I was not that nervous.  I was supposed to do my reading Monday, but I was in Washington DC for the March for Life.  Though it seems like abortion would be a good topic to do a reading on, it is so overdone and I did not want to go there.  However, while my church group was in Washington DC, we visited the Holocaust Museum.  It takes about an hour and a half to get through, and it was so worth it.  It is incredible that so many people could have died without being stopped.  It reminded me of a book I had to read in my sixth grade english class.  The book was Night.  The first time I read that book, I fell in love.  I had to share a reading from that book.

I tried to do a reading with a serious tone because though I have a bubbly personality, I have the idea in my head that I’m always right.  I will fight to make everybody believe it, too. I can get into massive arguments and get so enraged because people just don’t get me sometimes.  However, I think everybody understood me this time.  I tried to read it in a serious tone with good posture and with good pausing.  However, I got the comment to relax and to slow down a little bit.  I feel like the reading should have been tense, though.  It gave it a bit more drama in my opinion.  I do know that I should have slowed down my phrasing every once in a while, though.  For my next speech, I should probably give more eye contact and slow down my reading so I can reach my maximum potential.  Overall, though, I think my reading went relatively well.

Jenna

Entry filed under: Meaning, Public Reading, public speaking, Public Speaking Delivery, Public Speaking Evaluation, Reflecting on Experience, Uncategorized.

Not In Her Storm Oh! My Racing Heart

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. melissa  |  February 2, 2011 at 12:35 am

    Your reading choice was good! very interesting. You did a Great job!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Student Blog

This blog is the collective work of students enrolled in the Fundamentals of Effective Speech Class at Southern State Community College South Campus. We invite you to add your voice to the conversation. Just click the "add comment' button to share your ideas and suggestions.

Blog Stats

  • 165,223 hits

Important

If you see your image, link, name, etc. on this blog and don't want it here, please contact us and it will be removed immediately.

