My informative speech

February 15, 2011 at 7:04 pm 9 comments

I was very pleased with how my informative speech on the child sex trade industry went.  I thought that I got the point across that I wanted to, even though there were a couple of things that I would have changed.

I think for my next speech, I will work on my choice of words better.  I felt that I was a bit repetitive in certain parts and this probably could have been avoided with more precise preparation.  Secondly, I would have tried to expound on some of my main points further.  This speech was a lesson in carefully placing your points in the right place to create the optimal effect.

But, like I said, I was glad that I picked that topic and was pleased with the progress that I made.  I especially felt inspired while I was writing out my introduction and my conclusion, as I really felt something emotionally tugging at me even as I spoke them out loud during practice.  Speaking about the sex trading industry also gave me a renewed sense of responsibility to help fight this problem in any way that I could.  It really convicted me to write a letter of support to our state representative for the Child Protection Compact Act and to start praying harder for those kids.  I hope that I really touched and moved others in the class in some way through my presentation.  I also hope that it truly made them want to help fight this global problem.

Kendra

Entry filed under: informative speech, public speaking, Public Speaking Delivery, Public Speaking Evaluation, Public Speaking Tips, Reflecting on Experience, Uncategorized.

Public Speaking is an Art Halfway There in Speech Class!

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lindsay  |  February 15, 2011 at 8:11 pm

    I think you did a very nice job with your speech. It was a very emotional topic and you had the audience’s attention the whole time. Great job!

    Reply
    • 2. Kendra  |  February 18, 2011 at 5:44 pm

      Thank you Lindsay! I am glad you liked it. 🙂

      Reply
  • 3. ally  |  February 21, 2011 at 3:04 pm

    I already told you in the restroom the other day, but you did a great job! Your speech was very interesting and I loved everything about it. You kept me listening and I learned a lot.

    Reply
    • 4. Kendra  |  February 21, 2011 at 8:21 pm

      Thanks so much Ally! All of your positive feedback means a lot to me.

      Reply
  • 5. Leeza Rickey  |  February 21, 2011 at 6:50 pm

    wow is all i have to say to your speech. i couldnt believe the facts and everything of your speech. you really done good with the speech and i knew there was a sex trade but now im glad that we dont really have to worry about that too much. your speech really hit me hard and im not gonna lie i almost tear up. i learned alot and i will visit the website that you gave us. good job, it really hit home for me.

    Reply
    • 6. Kendra  |  February 21, 2011 at 8:23 pm

      I’m so happy to hear that you’re going to check out the websites! There’s a lot of interesting info on both of them. Be sure to check out the part about the Child Protection Compact Act. I’m glad the speech had an impact on you; I know the topic did on me.

      Reply
  • 7. destini12  |  February 22, 2011 at 11:53 am

    You did a great jod delivering your speech. It was very informative and touching. I could tell the topic meant something to you and it’s nice to see someone trying to make a change in the world. Nice Job! =]

    Reply
  • 8. robert  |  March 20, 2011 at 6:34 pm

    Very riskey speach. I would not have been able to talk about that kind of thing.But you did a good job and had info that you could back up . i did not realize that it was that big of a problem.

    Reply
    • 9. Kendra  |  March 21, 2011 at 10:46 am

      Thank you! I’m glad that you liked it and learned from it.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Student Blog

This blog is the collective work of students enrolled in the Fundamentals of Effective Speech Class at Southern State Community College South Campus. We invite you to add your voice to the conversation. Just click the "add comment' button to share your ideas and suggestions.

Blog Stats

  • 167,529 hits

Important

If you see your image, link, name, etc. on this blog and don't want it here, please contact us and it will be removed immediately.

